The Sun Sets on the Big Island

in #photography6 years ago

sunset.jpg

The colors of the sunset were intensified by the VOG (gas from the Volcano). VOG occurs when sulfur dioxide and other gases and particles emitted by an erupting volcano react with oxygen and moisture in the presence of sunlight. The Big Island of Hawaii is the only island in Hawaii that has an active volcano and lives with VOG every day. Sulfur dioxide when mixed with water and air forms sulfuric acid.

When I look at the vibrant colors of this sunset and think about that it created by the VOG I think about how some things, with vibrant colors, in nature are a warning. A warning to stay away. A warning of danger ahead.

I marvel at the beauty of the sunset, and reflect on the warning.

  • I am reminded that acid rain can fall from the sky and ruin my nice shiny car.
  • I am reminded of the impermanence of things.
  • I am reminded that life can be taken away at any time.
  • I am reminded how happy I am to exist.
Sort:  

I dont understand photography much but this one looks like a perfect shot to me.

Thanks so much for reading and commenting. Followed.

Nice..very and very beautiful pic.i liked it..follow by follow

Thanks for the comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62808.61
ETH 3464.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53