Winter in Czech Republic: photo collection of snowy shots from my homeland

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

I am going to miss out on my favorite golden hour photography today as I prepared something else for you. It is the Christmas time now and to me, a Central European dude, this beautiful festive period has always been associated with snow (apart from other things and traditions, of course :)

Therefore, I decided to compile a little selection of my best winter photos to show you what winter looks like in my Czech homeland. However, this task proved to be very difficult, especially for two reasons.

First, the weather patterns have been changing drastically over the years. I clearly remember that winters used to come with a lot snow almost every year when I was a kid. In the recent years, the number of snowy days in the Czech Republic has dwindled to no more than a dozen or two for the whole winter season. Seriously guys, the global warming is a real thing.

Second, I have spent most of the recent winters at tropical or subtropical places in different parts of the world, far away from my tiny freezing (yet beloved) homeland.

With that said, it is quite obvious (and I am sorry about that) that the photo collection you are about to see in this post will be a far cry from all those breathtaking winter shots that many great photographers (like @harkar, @karja, @intrepidphotos and others) have been posting here on Steemit lately.

Yet, I hope it will still give you at least a little idea of what the Czech landscape can look like in winter. As for the exact locations of the following shots - I am not quite sure about some of them but the vast majority of these photos were taken in and around the cities of Prague, Brno, Svitavy, Ostrava and Opava.


1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

10.jpg

11.jpg

12.jpg

13.JPG

14.jpg

15.jpg

16.jpg

17.jpg

18.jpg

19.jpg


I hope you enjoyed this little selection of my Czech winter memories. If you have some nice winter photos from your homeland, feel free to share them with us in the comment section below. I would love to see them :)



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!

Sort:  

You have got more snow than us here down in the south ;)
These frost images are amazing @phortun.

Pi-Xmas-2018a-en-1000x563.jpg

Thank you so much, merry Christmas to you too! :)

Ten sněhulák na lavičce mě baví :)

Mně se taky líbil, ale přiznávám, že náš výtvor to nebyl :D Jinač veselé Vánoce na jih Moravy přeju! ;)

Moc děkuji. Vám také krásné Vánoce ať už jste kdekoliv, klidně i v tom Mexiku, Ježíšek si vás urcite našel a něco hezkého nadělil pod palmu či cokoliv jiného :)

No s tou palmou ses docela trefila :D Děkujem ;)

Thank you Rose, merry Christmas :)

Oh the memories, it's just been a few weeks that I had been around there, I want to go back!

I know buddy :) Plan your comeback on late April/May - that´s when the weather in my country starts to be nice, making perfect conditions for so much fun ;)

Hezký výběr. To potrubí je nej ;-) Dřív bývaly tuhé zimy a plno sněhu. Táta mi vyprávěl, jak bruslili jako kluci na řekách. Skoro jsem tomu nevěřil.

No i já pamatuju úplně jiné zimy, než jsou teď... A to se bavíme o době asi jen 25 let dozadu... Oteplování postupuje velmi rychle :(

Asi tak. A je sucho.

The pictures are great, every place have their own sharm and beauty 😊 it is very interesting to see pictures from around the world. 👍🏻

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for these kinds words, I would love to visit some Scandinavian countries and take really cool photos like you :) Merry Christmas to Norway!

Very good work @phortun!

I'm organizing a Christmas photo contest, if you're interested to participate here is the link:
[WIN 30 STEEM] 🎄🎅🎁 CHRISTMAS-STEEM PHOTO CONTEST 2018 🎁🎅🎄 [RULES]

20181221_231005.jpg

Merry Christmas-steem!

Wow, thank you so much! I will check out that contest :) Merry Christmas to you! :)

bitmoji-20181225082206.png

THANKS AND MERRY CHRISTMAS FROM SPAIN 🎁🎄🎅☀️🤩

These are such beautiful photos my friend. Veselé Vánoce! 🎄✨✨

What a nice visit to my blog :) Thank you very much Ade. Like I said in the post, I don´t really have many cool winter photos but I still wanted to make a post like this. Btw do you use an online traslator to write those Czech phrases or you really speak some Czech? :)

I really do speak a little Czech haha :)

How come?! The Czech language is one of the most difficult (and probably least useful) languages in the world :D

like the photo with snowman holding a branch =), did you make tat

PS :
Posting content on instagram ? give share2steem a look. It’s a new dapp that EASILY autopost your instagram post to steemit. Get daily upvotes from s2s and other users who activate unique double curations.

No, someone else built that snowman, I just took a photo of it :)

Thanks but I dont have instagram :)

haha nice encounter :) i wish i see snowman too

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome photography phortun sir.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42