Market Friday: street markets of Cuba

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

Today, I am very happy to come up with my very first contribution to the #MarketFriday photo initiative by @dswigle.

To be honest with you, I don´t actually frequent markets as they are often crowded with people (I really value my peace and quiet :D) but I still found some shots in my photo archive that, hopefully, qualify for this tag so let me share these with you.

IMG_20171026_163213.jpg

IMG_20171026_100312.jpg

IMG_20171027_133342.jpg

IMG_20171027_133004.jpg

IMG_20171026_130609.jpg

IMG_20171027_132834.jpg

All of the featured photos were taken by me in the Cuban cities of Havana and Vinales. If you like traditional souvenirs and handicrafts of all kinds, Cuba is definitely a place to visit ;)

Have a wonderful Friday everyone and if you have some interesting market-related photos, go ahead and submit them in the #MarketFriday tag by @dswigle. Thanks for hosting it Denise! :)



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!

Sort:  

Well you may not like markets, but I would say that you put out a fairly Nice Market, and in Cuba! Every American has never been is trying to get there before it gets too westernized. Half of the charm of Cuba is in the fact that it is like stepping out of 1950. Pleasantville if you will.

I find the people of Cuba to be humble and very nice people he'll take the shirt off their back. Before it became a huge vacationland for tourists, their artwork showed up in some of the most bizarre places and it was kind of fun to seek out some of these secret Little Gems. I hope you have a most wonderful time and I want to thank you for submitting this to #MarketFriday.

There are enough pictures to give One a sense of what Cuba is like, especially in little shop that has the artwork hanging on the outside of the building. But handicrafts are often homemade and sometimes on The Rustic side. But that's exactly what I'm looking for. Something homemade not machine made. I can buy that anywhere.

It is a wonderful post and I appreciate you taking the time and effort going through your photos to see what you can submit.

Upped and steemed

!tip

Aww, thank you so much Denise! I had fun making this entry, will surely join again in some of your future Market Fridays :) And yeah, Cuba still looks like one giant open-air museum. It sometimes felt very strange there, especially for us, Czech people with similar, communist history...

Great post @phortun. Having some awesome flashbacks... this sits on my coffee table!
cubaflag.jpg

Nice!! :) What is that box for actually? Cigars?

Close. The receipt from the cigars I bought in Havana!

Ah! Makes sense :) Anyway, the box looks very cool. I am now starting to regret I didn´t bring one too :D :(

There is so much I should have brought back. However, there was just so much room for the cigars, the box and my swollen liver and belly (;

Did you try the Santiago 11 yr rum? That's the big one I missed bringing back.

swollen liver and belly - hahaha :D

Nope, we didn´t try this one. Sounds like another reason for us to come back to Cuba :)

I don't know if being so far from this market is good or bad, as I would love to buy a lot of wooden products. I just love them and these products are wonderful. Nice job.

Thank you! I like wooden hand-made products too :)

We have a lot of wooden handmade products here but yours are very different, which makes me want to buy some :)

I like it, great post!!! Greetings Peter.

Thanks Sule :) Say hi to Ignacio and Arena! :)

Haha som akurat na vas oboch klikol a som sa haluzil, ze ci je naozaj nejaka market foto sutaz :D pekne

Jo, nedávno jsme ten tag objevili, tak jsme to museli hned zkusit :D

Great post, congratulations my brother, Muito bom seu post amigo, sou seu seguidor aqui do brasil agora!!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=market-friday-street-markets-of-cuba


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has received a 22.32 % upvote from @boomerang.

🎁 Hi @phortun! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Those paintings are really cool, specially the ones with old cars , sexy sexy old cars.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43