Skomer Island with Phoblographer 📷

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This is a brief follow up to my previous post, Photographing Puffins with Phoblographer. I hope you'll check that out prior to reading this as it should put things into context.

Below is in an image of the Mew Stone off Skomer Island. It's home to a number of birds, primarily the Common Guillemot.

The Mew Stone. Nikon D750, Sigma 150-600mm C @ f/7.1, 150mm, 1/1250 sec, ISO 400

Guillemots are birds that you've likely seen on nature channels due to their unique nesting habits. They spend the majority of the year at sea but nest on sheer cliffs during the summer months. They congregate during the breeding season, thousands at a time, and they make for a fascinating spectacle.

The Guillemot Cliff. Nikon D750, Sigma 150-600mm C @ f/9, 170mm, 1/800 sec, ISO 640

If you get close to your screen you'll notice that those black and white dots on the cliff are actually nesting birds. When they are grouped together like this, the sound they create is phenomenal. I'd liken it to a deafening chattering, like a call centre run by thousands and thousands of penguins, all shouting to make themselves heard. Below is a closer view of the same cliff

Cliff Close Up. Nikon D750, Sigma 150-600mm C @ f/9, 480mm, 1/640 sec, ISO 640

Being exposed on the cliffs makes them vulnerable to predators. I spotted several hawks hovering overhead and seagulls are known to swallow guillemot chicks whole.

Pig Stone. Nikon D750, Sigma 150-600mm C @ f/8, 150mm, 1/320 sec, ISO 250

This is another rock formation off the edge of the island known as the Pig Stone. It's again home to a group of guillemots, the image below is a close up.

Pig Stone Close Up. Nikon D750, Sigma 150-600mm C @ f/8, 500mm, 1/800 sec, ISO 640

There were many other birds on the island too, like the juvenile oystercatcher shown below. As I mentioned in my previous post, the sheer variety of the wildlife was quite stunning.

Juvenile Oystercatcher. Nikon D750, Sigma 150-600mm C @ f/8, 480mm, 1/1250 sec, ISO 320

Well that's it for this mini post. Be sure to check out my previous article Photographing Puffins with Phoblographer, that documents the puffin population on the island. Please consider upvoting & following me for similar content in the future, cheers for now.

All images present in this article are © Alexander White

Sort:  

It took me a minute to see those birds on the mountain. You are visiting some beautiful places bro. Briliant work, keep it up as always.

Thanks, as always your support is appreciated. I'll be looking out for your future posts.

Wonderful article and images. Amazing how the birds blend with their surroundings in your images. Good to see a close up. Upvoted and following. I would have resteemed, if I'd seen this work earlier.

These pictures are amazing, have to admit i didnt see the birds in the first one until i zoomed in ehe. I loved the post about the Puffins, i cant believe how friendly they were with you! Thats pretty awesomd (: @bethwendy

Congratulations @phoblographer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

OMG the little guy is tooooooo cute.... <3

: ) There were some really beautiful birds on the island. If you haven't already, check out the puffins too, they're just as cute.

https://steemit.com/photography/@phoblographer/photographing-puffins-with-phoblographer

From guy who just bought a camera and wants to start taking photos, this is awesome! I mentioned you in my latest post. :)

Thanks, I saw your other post too. It's nice of you to take the time to tell others about my work, I appreciate it.

The last one is beautiful. I will follow you because you have a lot of talent. Bravo, good job

Thank you, that's nice of you to say. I hope you'll continue to enjoy my future work : )

Another gorgeous post! I just logged in to post my piece from this morning about the gannets of Skellig (another rock full of birds...), and now I feel like maybe I should sit on it so as to not double up on content :/

Thanks, it's funny you say that as I was going to include a few pictures of gannets in this post. Don't worry though, I'm sure your post will be different and interesting, I look forward to it.

You have some pretty amazing photos.

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoy them : )

GREAT photos!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61285.21
ETH 2922.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66