Overcoming Limitations As a Photographer 📷

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Asking The Right Questions:

As photographers we face numerous challenges in the pursuit of our work. Poor lighting, uncooperative subjects (both human and animal), and equipment woes are just some of the limiting factors that can adversely affect our shots. The one constraint that is perhaps most overlooked however, is the photographer themselves. It is the individual behind the lens that determines the quality of the end product; ironic that the limitations inherent in oneself can be the be the most problematic to overcome.

The Sky's the Limit! f/5.6, 1/160sec, 24mm, ISO 500 (The French Alps as seen through a plane window)

When I show my pictures to others one of the first things they'll ask is, "What camera/lens did you use?" or "what settings did you use?" This is understandable, photography is a technical discipline after all. It's of course important to be familiar with the effects that shutter speed, aperture and ISO all have on an image. This can however limit our perceptions of what constitutes a good shot, or shooting style. I've rarely been asked questions such as, "what made you decide to frame the image in this way?" or "How did you approach your subject, what feeling were you attempting to convey?"

Technically Speaking:

I took this picture with the first real camera I ever owned, a Nikon P520. I was drawn to it because it boasted a 42x optical zoom (more zoom equals better pictures right?) It was obsolete when I bought it, and it's even more so now.

Le Moulin De Gooyer, Amsterdam. f/8.2, 1/10sec, 10mm (equivalent), ISO 200

I had a one night stop over in Amsterdam before flying on to Houston, Texas the following morning. It turned out that the "hotel" I'd booked was actually a creaky canal boat, and not feeling up to sleeping on what could become my watery grave, I went exploring. It was about 3 A.M when I came across this windmill. I noticed the contrail hanging in the sky, the sliver of moon disappearing with the rising sun, and the colours struck a chord with my mood at the time. I opted to expose the image such that there was no detail in the windmill, I metered for the sky, and I took the shot.

A Dragonfly in Hermann Park, Houston. f/5.9, 1/640sec 180mm (equivalent) ISO 200

I took this photo with the same camera; from a technical perspective there are several things to note. Firstly the P520 has a 1/2.3" crop sensor, similar to that which you would find in a smart phone, indeed inferior to some more modern smart phones. You'll also note that both of these images were taken at ISO 200. The reason for this is because above ISO 200, the noise introduced to the image quickly becomes a problem. This was a considerable limitation for me, yet I held on to this camera for a number of years and I sometimes miss it to this day. The point is that I learned to adapt my shooting style to the technical limitations of the time, improving myself as a photographer in the process.

There is a common misconception that great gear makes for great shots, that you need to shoot at wide apertures, f/2.8 or f/4, to achieve the coveted bokeh effect. Little discussed are relative focal length, distance from subject, and the nature and proximity of the background itself. Below I've enclosed three images taken by me. I haven't included exposure data because I'd like you to determine which were taken with my old P520, and which were taken with my D750 (full frame), 150-600mm setup. Keep in mind that the images represent a £2000 difference in gear cost...

Inward Thinking:

You may have seen the difference right away, though I hope you appreciate my point. Great equipment should exist only to facilitate your artistic vision. With every picture you take, you make many unconscious choices. How you choose to expose or compose your image is a direct result of your cumulative experience as a photographer. And your experiences themselves are defined by the limitations you've encountered and resolved over time.

I'd like to conclude by stating that introspection is a powerful creative tool. It can be leveraged in order to provide clarity and objectivity to almost all aspects of our lives. I believe that as photographers we can have a tendency to think outwardly, about our next adventure or the next best piece of kit. I've found that my greatest instances of personal growth have resulted from me seeking to understand my current motivations and my perceived limitations. Everyone is different and adapts to their given situations in different ways. Though I believe inward thinking is a great first step to overcoming our respective limitations, as both photographers and individuals alike.

Thanks for taking the time to read my article. Be sure to upvote and follow me if you enjoyed this post. I'll be producing a wide variety of content in the near future, I promise it won't all be as rambling as this. So stay tuned for more. Cheers everybody.

All images present in this article are © Alexander White

Sort:  

Nice Post! Informative, Engaging and Visually pleasing, Awesome Photographs!

Thanks, stay tuned for more : )

As Ansel Adams said:

A good photograph is knowing where to stand

As an enthusiastic amateur, I try to remember this as the golden rule!

Your tips here are great!

Exactly! And zooming with your feet is perhaps the best thing any amateur photographer can learn. Thank you again for your comments.

rules will be remembered and black swan is awsome

Thank you, I'm glad you found the article useful. And I like the black swan too, the colours look really nice in print.

This is what Ive been looking for here.
Im new to Steemit and when I saw Photography I got so happy.
I am now following you and will upvote every post you make about Photography. Me myself is a Photographer but I have not come to a point where I am really proud of my work. Something is really missing in my shots I dont know why. Maybe its the post process since thats where I know that I am weak. But still thank you for making this post. Hopefully youll follow me back too so you could check my content once I start posting. Im hoping to learn more from you about photography. Thanks again :)

Hi chadym, thanks for following me, I'm glad you enjoy my work. Post processing techniques are something that I intend to cover in the future, maybe you could give me an idea of exactly what aspect of editing you're having difficulty with. I could then produce tutorials tailored to your needs.

I've followed you and I look forward to seeing your content in the future. Hopefully you'll find my future content useful. Cheers for now : )

Now this makes me really excited. Thank you.
I want to enhance more on playing with the colors you have in portraits.
When I get to upload some shots youll see. Im just currently busy with some Videography in our local city. But yeah man thanks Im looking forward for some growth from you. Cheers!

Thanks for your encouragement. I'll look out for your portrait posts and make suggestions or edits if needed. : )

You know, I know it doesn't truly suit nature photography, but I actually really like noise in a photo. (Just an aside from your writing about your old friend that you left behind...)

I spent a long time worrying about grain and ISO, and feeling like others wouldn't like some of the images that I'm most proud of and in love with. It took me a while to wrap my head around the fact that the scene is what the scene is, and the way that I choose to present it is what's important.

Hi crimsonclad, thanks for sharing my article. I absolutely agree with you, the real problem with that old camera was the autofocus speed that would lead to a lot of missed opportunities. I simply used ISO as a convenient example to represent the technical limitations that we're faced with as a whole.

I really believe that noise in an image is a fairly small problem, as you said it can be used creatively to good effect. I also completely agree that it is the manner in which you choose to portray your subject that is of the most importance. Having your own creative vision and being able to convey it effectively is far more essential than having a great camera or lens. (I believe videographers call it mise-en-scène)

Thanks again for sharing my article and also for sharing your personal insights. Cheers : )

For sure. My favourite lens is an antique Sigma that's slow as hell and has a horrid back focusing problem, but I just can't quit it. It's followed me around the world like a faithful puppy.

Ha, I'm sure there's a word for the strange affection we develop for inanimate objects. If there isn't, then there should be.

I intend to resteem your Beach of Bones post by the way, but I've already resteemed 3 things in the last 24 hours. I'll probably do it a little later tonight or tomorrow some time. Some thoughtful images you've taken there.

I think there is a term somewhere, but the connotations are a bit unsavoury.

Thanks kindly! The amount of great photography around makes my head spin. I think I'm going to enjoy it here. :)

Wow! "It took me a while to wrap my head around the fact that the scene is what the scene is, and the way that I choose to present it is what's important." I like how you said this. It made me think more about my photography. Im following you now @crimsonclad
Gosh I feel so good right now knowing theres a lot that I could learn from here in Steemit about Photography.

You sir are going to make me a better photographer!! :)

I'm here to learn as much as to impart knowledge to others; I find that I learn just by writing these articles. But thank you for your kind comments, I'm happy to help out :)

Congratulations @phoblographer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great shots and advice! As much as I love photography, as an amateur and a proud cheapskate, I never felt compelled to drop excessive amounts on gear. I appreciate the awesomeness of it, but cant justify the pain lol.

Thanks once again, and you don't need the gear to take great shots. Having good equipment just makes life easier, much like your sit on lawn mower : )

Good points @phoblographer, and good photos. You deserve to be seen.

Thanks so much, I'm grateful that you think so.

your picture are really great. as you said there are a lot of thing to consider to become a good photographer. and i am,still in search for the right ingredient to become one.
i have tried to shoot some, but still couldn't find my shot good. not even the technique. .

This will sound strange, but leave your camera at home. Go out as if you were going to take pictures and take in your surroundings, see what you notice about your environment or what it is you might be missing. Make a mental record and decide what sort of pictures you want to take. A way of taking more meaningful images is to show a series of them to others. If they can tell what kind of day you had just by looking at your pictures, then you're successfully conveying a story. Thank you for your comment, don't give up.

will try that. . sometimes hard to put my imagination into the picture.

thank you for your advice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.36
ETH 3507.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54