The lumber yard

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Few things in my photographic life make me as happy as finding a new abandoned place to wonder around and make photographs. I spend a good deal of time while I am at work driving around scouting for new locations. A couple of months ago I was driving around over in prospect park and found this huge lumber yard complex. I must have driven past this place a thousand times in the last few years. I don't even know how long it's been empty. I drove around until I could find an access point. The next week My partner in crime Thaiphy and I went to check it out. It's a desolate wasteland. It's one of those places where you wonder if anyone has even been there since you were there a week ago lol.

minneapolis+night+photography1.jpeg

This place is enormous! I think we spent the whole first hour just looking around for places we wanted to shoot. We started at the loading dock.

minneapolis+night+photography+2.jpeg

This place has a lot of graffiti. most of it is pretty good.

minneapolis+night+photography+3.jpeg
Lots of rails and angles.

From there we started moving around the side of the building by the lumber storage sheds. There was lots more cool graffiti. We took a moment to mess around with some light painting.

minneapolis+night+photography+4.jpeg

I know it's dorky but it's fun!
We got around to the other side of the main building to a loading dock that was super long.

![minneapolis+night+photography+5.jpeg]
()

Crap! It started raining!

minneapolis+night+photography+6.jpeg

Then, we found an entry point into the main building. There was a different opening by the loading dock but there was no way my fat ass was fitting through there. This place is seriously cool. Totally empty. even the electrical panels were ripped out.

minneapolis+night+photography+7.jpeg

It was so dark in here you couldn't see your hand in front of your face.

minneapolis+night+photography+8.jpeg

I love playing with flashlights.

minneapolis+night+photography+9.jpeg

This is the access point I could never fit through lol.

minneapolis+night+photography+10.jpeg

Did I mention flashlights...

minneapolis+night+photography+11.jpeg

This place is an absolute playground for anyone who is looking for a low light/long exposure challenge. It is pitch black in there. you have to use lights of some kind to get any kind of exposure. even my sony's weren't up to the challenge. I look forward to going back here many more times before they eventually tear the place down to build condos. Thank you for slogging through another one of my blog posts. Phil.

Sort:  

Hi phil

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello. Nice to meet you!

Source
#introduceyourself/#introducemyself

The “introduceyourself/introducemyself” tag is for creating one introductory post that tells us about you. Users are encouraged to use this tag exclusively for that, and not to reuse it.

More information:

The Game of Tags

Nice photos

Some really good photos there and I liked the light painting you did, it's fun and made a photo with cool graffiti look like it was out of a sci fi movie or something.

Found your post thanks to the Curation Contest entry by @zorank

Hi there, philwardphoto, you're welcome. Keep it up and wish you to get more success.


Welcome to Steemit @philwardphoto!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

This post contained some typos in its mentions that have been corrected in less than a day. Thank you for your quick edit !

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Congratulations @philwardphoto! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @philwardphoto! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57852.72
ETH 2355.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44