Sleepwalk : Black and White Photography

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Sleep walk is a project started in 2016 that I continue to work on, its a reflection on living in a world of suffering not being able to distinguish truth from illusion, living in the waking dream, unable to awaken spiritually. This project has many iterations and deals with the subconscious's ability to associate memories with images.

1.jpg

4.jpg

Picture-016.jpg

2.jpg

Picture-008.jpg

When being viewed consciously, photographs exist in a dream like space devoid of time, telling a story without beginning and end. Just as a song you've heard evokes memories with associated feelings you've forgotten, photography evokes a sense of place that exists in seeing. Discarded fragments of modern life are monumental surrounded by living things, there are traces of life and death on their surface that echo an unknown history. Life gyrates with death in subliminal spaces where everything is obliterated and recreated.

Take a look at my website:
http://www.peterfmiller.com

Be sure to also check out my feature of a more recent project on the Detroit Center for Contemporary Photography's website and my takeover of their Instagram starting tomorrow.
http://www.detroitccp.org

Sort:  

nice work. I'm happy to give that an upvote, especially as it's an ongoing project.. love that :)

Thanks! Much appreciated! I'm still getting the hang of networking and getting my work out to people on this site.

following ! (the last picture is just weird) i don't really know If I'm upside down or what it is. where it is !!?

The last picture was taken under a bridge, so it has even lighting from two sides but no light from above! People have told me it looks like a lunar landscape lol

I love black and white pics. Thanks for sharing!

Hey thanks man !! You are my first follower !!

You're welcome and good luck! I'm excited to see the pictures everyone here posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16