This Photograph Has Been Stolen So Many Times

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

180202-irl-an-005.jpg

I've lost count of how many times this photograph has been stolen from me. It shows Dunluce Castle, Co. Antrim on a fine day and is actually a photograph that I took on a scouting trip. I had intended to return for a photograph at sunset or sunrise, but I never made it back.

What makes this picture so worth stealing (among a certain group of people online, anyway) is that it shows perfectly how to use a graduated neutral density (ND) filter to balance bright and dark areas in a scene. These filters allow you to expose for the darker area of a scene, while helping you to retain detail in the lighter area in your photograph, which would otherwise just burn out.

I used this photograph to accompany an article about using graduated ND filters on the popular Luminous Landscape website. Since then, an endless stream of people have nicked it as an illustration of the use of graduated ND filters on their own websites and platforms.

(You can buy a print of this photograph here: https://buff.ly/2EgwwaK)

Sort:  

I feel your pain. It's a terrific shot! I deal with this on regular basis. I know this is an old post, but i thought you might be interested in my latest post, which you can find by going to my page. In the next few weeks an important bill regarding Copyright Infringement is going to be voted on in the US Senate. I'm not sure where you are based. I just saw that you are in Ireland! Still, the post should interest all content providers I think. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68