Weekend in the Desert

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I used the weekend to escape the city and head into the desert. It felt good to be surrounded by complete silence.

DSCN9736.JPG
For some time I was driving beside one of the Dubai cycle tracks that run through the desert dunes. This is part of 86km long cycle track and I love this bypass. It pays respect to the tree that was there before the asphalt.

DSCN9784.JPG
Greetings to fellow Steemians!

DSCN9774.JPG
The desert here is not just sand, you can spot tufts of grass or a tree here and there. Usually, you can see ghaf trees, the national trees of the UAE. Their roots can grow up to 30 meters deep in search for water. While a palm tree needs 180 litres of water a day, the ghaf needs only 10 litres. It is illegal to cut them down so if the tree stands in the way it has to be transplanted somewhere else where it can continue to grow.

DSCN9738.JPG
The sunset was not as majestic as one would hope but it was still nice to observe it.

DSCN9802.JPG

DSCN9807.JPG

While I'm heading back to work in the morning (weekends in Dubai are Fridays and some are lucky enough to have Saturdays off as well) I wish a pleasant weekend to you all. Steem on!

Sort:  

It looks wonderful. It must be hot there. I love the first photo!

Thanks @k4r1nn. It is hot but desert air makes it bearable.

This is amazing! I love the desert and the feeling of the dry sand.
Wonderful pictures!

I lived in the Sahara 5 years, it is really beautiful, thank you very much for this extraordinary post
I follow you

Thanks @machhour, I'm sure Sahara is something special too. I've never been there.

yes 5 years , its a great place :) thank you for sharing amazing content

Great pics of the desert! Looks like it was pretty warm too! Thanks for sharing!

My place like that is the northern swedish woods 😊 silence.

Sounds like something I shouldn't miss.

Yeah, if you ever up north you should try the woods! I live close to the Norwegian border and the mountains that seperate us. Ah I love it! 😊

Wow I would love to visit that desert one day! I've never personally seen desert sand like that! Thanks for sharing your pictures

Take water

Is it hot in Dubai?

It heats up to 45C (113F) these days but it will go up till 50 in the next month so I'm not complaining now.

We already start complaining at 30 here in Alberta, hehe.

Hehe and we wear jackets at 18 in December.

Nice colors!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59446.26
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41