Baby is back...!

in #photography7 years ago

Ello-30.jpg

Just can't express how happy I am to have my MX back!

A long time ago, back when trees could walk, animals could talk, ships were made of wood and men from iron (nowadays it seems al reversed) I acquired this #camera from my eldest brother who had it from his photography studies. The little I know about photography I learned with this camera. Eventually I stopped shooting #film when digital came, but somehow I could never get myself to selling it.

Some time ago I decided I wanted to try analog again and dusted this little sucker. Seems these old camera's suffer more from not being used as (to put it in the words of Robin from Harrow Technical where I sent it to for servicing) "its a bit of a wreck. The meter is not working, shutter speed indication in the viewfinder is broken, the mirror sticks, the fast speeds are non-exsistent, the counter is not working and all light seals need replacing, there is also a large dent in the top cover which you haven’t mentioned in your emails, probably at least a days work or more..."

The little dent I forgot to mention was there for as long as I remember, I didn't even notice it anymore. Might have something to do with my fall in Belfort, France when I was younger and more reckless (in my mind Belfort somehow is equivalent to loosing your ligaments), or maybe it was when the camera fell in the coal mine of Waterschei, Belgium, or maybe when it knocked on the rocks of Hadramaut, Yemen; which it was I really can't say. What I do know is, that it never failed me, the camera always performed like clockwork...

Cudos to Robin and the guys from Harrow Technical because as far as I can tell they did a hell of a job to making the camera alive again. Can recommend them if you have a Pentax 35mm camera lying around that needs servicing! http://harrowtechnical.co.uk

And now of loading a roll of T-Max...

Sort:  

Welkom op Steemit! \☺/

Thanks Remco!

Hierzé, wie we daar hebben 😉

Hi Eric. Thought I give it a go, but can't say I feel really at home here; have to say it's all new to me and some guidance would be gladly appreciated.

Hoi Marc, check mijn post op Ello, heb wat hints gegeven...

Thanks Eric! I saw that and asked some more questions... Slowly but surely we will learn!

I tried to answer... hope it helps...

Congratulations @pentaxke! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @pentaxke! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98