The Drakensberg, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa 🇿🇦

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

C58E7655-3769-4204-8482-9053D273EADD.jpeg


Hello everyone and welcome back to my little corner of SteemIt and Steepshot.

Today I am showing you a picture of one of my favourite places on Earth - The Drakensberg in South Africa.

I have been to South Africa a number of times and always based in Durban. The ‘Berg is a few hours by car through some of Natal’s finest lands - the coastal city of Durban and its hustle and bustle through to the tranquillity of the Berg with its huge mountain range and arable farms that go on forever (driving along a road you see a sign naming the farmer who owns the field next to you, ten minutes later you see another sign with the same name and realise you’re driving alongside a field the size of a small town!).

This shot shows a house we sometimes rent when we go - as you can see it’s tucked away in the hill side with mountains all around. It’s in a protected area where baboons, zebra and wild horses roam freely. More on those in future posts!

I took this photo with my iPhone 6 in black and white with no post editing.

I hope you like this photo!

Cheers for now!
PD1882


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Lovely shot.

I have to agree that KZN is an amazing part of South Africa. I was fortunate that my first real job was northern KZN as a game ranger.

That area up there is something special. You go from the thick Natal bush and suddenly are on a beach. Or you go into the sand forests that grow on the ancient sand dunes.

The Drakensberg are a lovely place to visit in winter. Misty mornings, bit of trout fishing in the day. Afternoon walks and evenings around a fire in a boma or your chalet. Stunning.

I can see why you like that house. Seems so tranquil.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks very much! I appreciate that comment especially from someone who has been there and knows the beauty of the place.

Sounds like you’ve lived a good life there! I spent some time in Sodwana diving and then Hluhluwe and Umfolozi at the game reserve which were both excellent!
I went to Sabi Sabi/Elephant Plains a few years back and practically had to beat the big 5 away haha - going to do a Big 5 week next week hopefully with some of my shots from there.
This place I photographed is in Fernwood, there are a few other houses there but you’d never know it, they’re a good distance away from each other in the folds and rolls of the hills.

Hluhluwe, the town was the nearest "civilization" to where I worked. Small game farm pretty much between Hluhluwe and Mkuze.

Sodwana was great, spend a few days in and around there too. Became a bit too commercial. Preferred Kozi Bay. Spent an entire day at the mouth once and saw 8 other people in about 10 hours! Beautiful, and to top it off, there is a small reef in the mouth you can snorkel over.

False bay is another lovely spot. Also very quiet and secluded.

When I did my practical part of my game ranging course, we spent 8 weeks in the Sabi Sands. Skirted around Sabi Sabi but never saw the lodge, we were too scruffy for the guests 😂
You want an experience, sit in the trackers seat on the bonnet of the vehicle whilst lions, leopards, hyenas and more are floating around and try not to jump and run! Experiences I will never forget.

Enjotly the next trip! Hope it's absolutely mind blowing!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks again!
I’ll be back in November, probably no game reserves this time sadly but hoping to head back to the Berg or maybe further north. Would love Sodwana again, we stayed in tiny little huts a drive from the beach, my first time diving and had a sea turtle showing me how to swim and moray eels taking an interest..!
I love the country, can’t wait to be back!

Look out of my Big 5 series next week! 👍

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-27T15:12:21
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 19.50/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94