[•] Fujifilm GFX50s Medium Format Camera Vs Oppo A57 Phone Review

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

IMG20171015125115.jpg

Yes you read the title right and its not click bait some people really really want to see how a smart phone can stack up to the lastest professional camera. The ever evolving technology in a smart phone can it go toe to toe with a newly released medium format camera like the Fujifilm GFX50s.

Now lets talk about specifications Fujifilm has 54.1 Megapixels (43.8 mm x 32.9 mm Bayer CMOS sensor) combined with the GF32-64mmF4 R LM WR Lens and the Oppo A57 with front camera (For Selfies) 16 Megapixels and a rear 13 Megapixels supported with f/2.2 lens

Both have Sony sensors just the size comparison is like a midget verse a giant.

DSCF6324.jpg

Fujifilm GFX50s with 32-64mm F4, Aperture: F4, Shutter 1/50Sec, ISO: 3200 resulted in a 18MP Jepg.

Now I have to say the convenience of a smart phone must not be dismissed. Walking around the Australian Reptile Park I noticed this very cool snake in his exhibit. And having the Oppo phone in my pocket makes it such a simple task to snap a quick pic of either myself for the ultimate selfie to post on Faceback, Instagram, Twitter or any other social media platform for instant gratification. But no this was for the snake and Fujifilm verse Oppo A57 and not for me as selfie time is pretty much non existent in my work as I have a face for radio and not for television ;-)

The first photo is hands down taken with the Oppo A57 and honestly I like it more than what I captured with the Fujifilm.. Many key factors involved and i'll explain.

Focal Length is probably the biggest thing and the Oppo allowed me to get in nice and close as with taking the photo with the GFX50s the 32-64mm lens forced me back 50 cm. The phone I could hold it directly on the glass and minimise the reflection of light and with any slow settings in low light I was able to minimise the shake as well.

Lets look closer
Screenshot (218).png

Screenshot (219).png

Analysing in photoshop you can see that one photo from the Oppo phone can fit four times into the one medium format. cool eh.

Now have a look at 100% crop.

Screenshot (222).png

Screenshot (221).png

Sometimes we get lucky with how we take a photograph and that is the most important thing when it comes to photography.

See in this whole process I prefer the result from the Oppo phone over the Fujifilm. The snake position plays in another factor :-( but what impresses me the most it the out of camera the colours are richer and how the Oppo did extremely well in low light. On the lower part of the image the blacks are fantastic. yes there is substantial degradation in the pixels zooming in. And I'm not knocking the Fujifilm as it is no slouch. I have said in a previous review that the GFX50s is perfect example of future proofing your work in terms of quality and knowing years down the track the images will enable you to go back and work on them with no fuss and be comfortable knowing the quality is always there.

Maybe it would be a different story if I had used a different lens but for this its just example and I'm not working for a client that demands the best in regards to high megapixels or for use on a billboard. What I've learned most from these little experiments is that every time it doesn't matter what camera you have or use as long as you get the photo you like best. I just think its fantastic the convenience of a smart phone and the ability to quickly take a picture in a crowded space is an added bonus too.

If you found this informative useful and interesting feel free to leave a comment below. If you have an Oppo A57 phone high five me as I love it and its is substantially cheaper than the latest iPhone and that money saved can go towards a decent camera or lens if your new to photography and want to build a kit ;-)

Find me on Instagram, Twitter and Flickr

Regards,

[•] p 🔺 z r 🔺 h n

Powered by all things Photography

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68147.96
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66