Winter in Tasmania, Australia (18 Photos)

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Tasmanian Winter

Tasmania is the large island off the south of mainland Australia, it is an incredibly diverse place when it comes to geography with tall mountains that can get snow at any time of year, through to amazing beaches and wild stretches of coast. Much of the island is largely untouched as over half of it is protected national parks.

In early 2014 I was commissioned by Lonely Planet and Flight Centre (a travel agent) to travel to Tasmania in Australia for a joint project between them and Tourism Tasmania. Up until that point I had seen most of mainland Australia, but hadn't ever been to Tasmania.

That trip created an addiction... I've lost count at how many trips to Tasmania I have done since, both my wife and I love it so much that we're planning to spend some serious time there at some point, maybe even move there for a period of time. I've been to Tasmania in every season now and by far my favourite time of year is mid-autumn through to the end of winter, this is their wettest time of year and it frequently snows in the mountains. All the extra rain and snow flows on down to the many, many waterfalls that Tasmania has.

Horseshoe Falls
Hiking in the mountains

Every single trip I've done to Tasmania I've taken time to spend a few days at the iconic Cradle Mountain. Cradle Mountain is a very mountainous area with some great lakes to photograph as well. It snows there quite a bit every year, I've managed to time my visits with the snow a few times.

Dove Lake & Cradle Mountain
Cradle Mountain
Snowed in

On my last trip to Tasmania I managed to time it right as several massive blizzards hit the area, I was the last vehicle in to Cradle Mountain before they closed the roads completely. I'd never experienced so much snow! With the roads closed I decided to hike to Dove Lake from the hotels, it is about 18kms return... I spent the day exploring and taking photos and had the whole area to myself, was pretty amazed to have the entire place to myself as usually it is fairly busy with tourists.

Winter in Tasmania
Sun setting through the clouds

The wildlife in the region is pretty incredible and fairly easily approached for photos. I have a personal aversion to animals in captivity under most circumstances, so I don't visit most zoos unless they have a stellar reputation in the work they are doing, all my photos of animals are in the wild unless otherwise stated. I make one exception in Tasmania.

Mombat & Sonbat (not really, they are wild wombats)

Every trip I go to a rehabilitation program for Tasmanian Devils. These amazing creatures have been struck down with weird facial tumours in most of their wild populations, so scientists and conservationists have collected healthy populations and are breeding them in sanctuaries with the aim of re-releasing them into the wild. Devils at Cradle is the one at Cradle Mountain, there are programs like it in several other places across Tasmania.

Tasmanian Devil
Tasmanian Devil
Tasmanian Devil

I absolutely love the Tasmanian Devils, they have some attitude and sound like they could kill you but it is one of the few species in Australia that would not harm you at all.

I know this post is a little dis-jointed, just wanted to show off some of my favourite part of Australia at my favourite time of year though. Here are some more photos:

Russell Falls
Dove Lake
Lake Oberon
Bridal Veil Falls
Snow in Tasmania - actually taken on a summer trip

Hope you've enjoyed the photos, there will be a few more posts just about Tasmania in the coming weeks.


Visit my website for more: paulmp.com

Prints are available on Redbubble: Paulmp on Redbubble

Social Media:
Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | LinkedIn

All photos posted are copyright Paul Pichugin unless otherwise stated.

Sort:  

When I was out in Australia and New Zealand earlier in the year (April to June), I would have loved to have explored Tasmania for a little bit but seeing these amazing pictures you've shared is making me feel like I'll have to dedicate some time when I next head over. I was in Melbourne for a few weeks, did the Great Ocean Walk, Grampians NP, Wilson's Prom, Cathedral Ranges, then to the red Centre… Add NZ to that, there really wasn't time to head on across the Bass Strait!

Awesome pictures and I can see why Flight Centre and Lonely Planet tapped you up for review work, a lot of talent there and well deserved curation from the steem guilds! Keep it up :)

I've explored most of Australia now... it is enormous, most people don't realise how vast and spread out it is :)

Haha it really is massive! Bigger than Europe I think? But there's a lot of "not a lot" too unless you're brave enough to go through the vast expanse of the Outback

Heh, the outback is not for the unprepared, but it is definitely not empty, some of the most amazing scenery exists out there.

Off the beaten track, I'm sure there are many hidden gems. The route I took as part of an adventure tour, particularly between Coober Pedy and Kings Canyon, we didn't come across a lot other than trees and shrubbery on the road but then we had a set itinerary and seeing the main sights of interest so didn't have too much time to explore anywhere else in between.

What great pictures and I actually really enjoyed the dis-jointed. I wanted to see more. Love the trees in the snow with the yellow leaves. They are all stunning photos.

Thank you Sara. Tasmania is also home to the only native deciduous trees Australia has, all the others came from various other countries, so there are some pretty cool photos of the yellow leaves.

That is fascinating. I will look forward to more of the trees. What is the name of the native one?

It is a type of southern beech tree called the Nothofagus, the locals in Tasmania call it Fagus, there is a whole thing about the "turning of the fagus". I imagine there is something similar where there are amazing autumn / fall colours in the USA.

Once again I love that you've got some unique angles at the Mt Field waterfalls. Great shots.

I'm working on a project that just covers Mt Field... there is so much more to that national park than just the two main waterfalls that everyone visits. I do love Horseshoe and Russell Falls though.

Gorgeous! I definitely want to make my way down to Australia/NZ for the winter months— mostly to snowboard while we're deep in summer here in the Northern hemisphere, but also to try and take photos of landscapes like this!

Once again, amazing work!


manually curated by @prettypictures
supporting photographers and other creators, one upvote and resteem at a time
read about how and why I curate, here


pretty pictures 2.png

Happy to play tour guide / photo instructor if you do!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh my goodness, the red jacket in front of the waterfall 😍

These are beautiful! Thank you for sharing such stunning photography with us.

We got pretty lucky with that waterfall, it doesn't flow that much every year. I took that photo with some broken ribs as I'd just fallen down a gorge about an hour earlier!

Im a sucker for photographing waterfalls and I love that one of you in front of the falls. Such great contrast there. I reckon you stole that jacket from Thomas Heaton though :D

The name sounds familiar but I'm not sure who Thomas Heaton is.

Awesome photography and showcasing the place I live so beautifully.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll be posting quite a few more photos from Tasmania... it is seriously my favourite place in Australia. Dove Lake is one of my favourite places in the world. Next Tassie post will be about some of the many waterfalls :)

Looking forward to it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! That’s incredibly stunning photos.

Posted using Partiko iOS

i have loved these pictures,thanks for sharing❤️👏

Beautiful pictures. It's been a while since I've seen snow as it is now fall in the north. But I guess winter is coming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97