THE BASOTHO MONUMENTS...WHAT AN ADVENTURE

in #photography7 years ago

IMG_20170615_215028.JPGThis serves to provoke a traveling zeal in those like me who want to explore the world across the races and cultures. Perhaps you might find yourself wanting to visit an African country and if you are still indecisive, I would suggest Lesotho for you. It’s a nation built upon the mountains and you will not like to miss any moment because it’s worth the adventure and the view.

Getting into Lesotho for the first time, you will be welcomed by a peaceful environment and friendly faces. Though you might be miles from home, you will feel that “you are really home away from home”.
I was really touched the first time I came to the place by the way things happen here. I couldn'tIMG-20160329-WA-picsay.jpg understand how people could be so kind, generous, helpful, protective and more caring to foreigners and not mistreat them or be violent or even be indifferent like in many other countries. I was then taken for a tour to a place called Thaba Bosiu.

It’s one of their historical monuments and it’s quite a beautiful place connected to the original roots of the Basotho kingdom. When we got there, the reception was good and the tour guide narrated to us the Basotho history and origin. He explained to us the foundation of the nation and how that mountain was their fortress and home, before we could take the long tour and view the many different sites of interest there. I then could understand why there is so much peace and great hospitality to strangers too in Lesotho. The founder called King Moshoeshoe was a man of peace and made peace with many foreign leaders. He preferred using peace to solve conflicts than using violence and wars and he had much wisdom even to make peace with the most violent of the leaders of his time.
He even taught his people hospitality to the extent that he told them to treat a foreigner like a brother and a family member and not even call them with names that would be showing them that they are outsiders.

It was a trip indeed and it seemed as if I was taken back into the ancient times and saw all that history with my naked eyes. I tell you that you will never regret visiting the “Mountain kingdom” (Lesotho). On the photos, I was there at Thaba Bosiu exploring the site from the cultural village to the mountain. Don’t only think of visiting the place, just visit it…it will be worth it and this I promise you.esteem-picsay.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful.

Thanks so much. Its a wonderful site indeed

This is so beautiful Gulliver keep telling us about your travells..that village looks still culturally intact.. i miss home

Hello fellow Zimbos,i have found this platform appealing in showcasing the opportunities in Zimbabwe (cryptocurrency) which can turn around peoples liives.I have made an initiative on P.A.LDiscord to create a Zimbabwe chat room where we mix ,share ideas and support each other .If you are interested feel free to check it out on the link below.Thank you once again
JOIN- #africa-zimbabwe channel -https://discord.gg/dTgjBJr
BLOG - https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@minnowsupport/msp-update-regional-communities
STEEM UPVOTE LOGO.jpg

Take me with you on your next adventure!

I will surely tell you in time Lisa. It's quite an awesome experience

I have heard from you now I want to see for myself since I am a doubting Thomas kkkkkk...

hahahaha....sometimes the best way to know if something is real is to go there yourself. You gotta pay a visit for sure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57616.20
ETH 3030.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25