Two Squirrel youngsters at work!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

This is Squirrel No: 1. I caught him with my camera on the ground at sunrise this morning!

They both popped out of the roof this morning and here I will show you some interesting differences between the two siblings. For starters, the one buries his nuts in the ground and the other takes her nuts home into the roof.
I will post 4 shots of each of the squirrels here, starting with number one whom we have nicknamed "Crusoe"
Let's have a look!

When Crusoe saw me he cruised with haste into the old oak tree, as this is his territory!

He eyed me so as if to say, "come on then mister, see if you can catch me"!

And then he decided to ignore me and started cleaning himself whilst watching me!

Now for Squirrel No: 2 and we have nicknamed her "Cleo" for "Cleopatra of course!

At first she thought to go back into the roof, but thankfully she decided to get something to eat first!

Then she decided to give me a royal good morning wink!

Note the Pecan nut tree branches above the roof and it obviously drops nuts into the gutters.
She delicately reached into the gutter, taking care not to show me her royal posterior!

Oh yes, she showed me by holding the nut against her royal heart and then returned home!

There you have it, two siblings totally different from each other. The one "Crusoe", acts like the dad and the other "Cloe", acts like the mother.
Just so it is in my family, as my one remaining sister acts like our mother and I am told that I am exactly the same as my estranged father. Both parents have passed away unfortunately at a young age.

Maybe the squirrels are two brothers, or two sisters, as I wouldn't know about their sexes, but I do know that they are very different from each other and this fact suits my story. As in nature, just so in human life our differences are repeated over the ages and one can only wonder at the truth that nature reflects.
How about you and your own siblings? Different or identical?

We hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

PHC-Footer-05.gif

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Great photos! The only way we have been able to tell the sex of squirrels is by their tails. The boys always have big fluffy tails and the girls often have really scrawny skinny tails because they pull all the fur to line their nests. Hope all is going well for you!

ha ha... the male squirrels around here have visible nutsacks. 😈

These two are still very young Jerry and I suppose that the young guy will also develop a proper tool bag Lol

@melinda010100 Thank you Lady Melinda and sadly I won't see them as adults, as we are on a short term rental here and will have to move on again soon. But thank you for telling me about their tails, as this explains another photo that I have of the adult squirrel with a scrawny tail. It must be their mom.
Everything is fine with us and I hope you are also doing well.
Blessings!

Those poor mama squirrels, it seems like just about the time their tails have begun to recover, it's time for a new batch of babies!

Oh no is that true? You can tell the sex by the tail

The mama's tails do fill in between litters, so I'm sure it depends on the time of year, but they do have two broods a year so for much of the year their tails are pretty scraggly looking. The males on the other hand often have big lush beautiful tails.

my sister and I used to fight because we have a lot of age difference-6 years. Growing up, we had been a real pain in our mom's ass. we would fight/bicker on almost anything. But now, we sort of have nearly identical interests. Both of us are in the medical field.

So nice to hear that you have both absolved your differences and that you are getting along. They say that blood is thicker than water.
Blessings!

Yes. i think that when you are a child, you get this idea that you have to have your own way. You have to be different and special and, yes. most kids have huge egos. That I think and the fact that I am the eldest and, my perception of the world that I should be bossy then affects our relationship.

Not that she makes it easier. She has her own issues like, she is the baby of the family so, she needed to be spoiled and stuffs.

In the end, I am glad that we were able to mend our differences because, i certainly cannot imagine going through life alone- like the rest of the people here who does not speak to their siblings and parents EVER because of some petty teen age or childhood fights.

Great shots and a cool post explaining there tow personalities i guess we wil never know but I wonder if they are siblings

They are definitely siblings JJ, as they stay in the same place in the roof. I saw them, early morning, pop out of the same hole behind the facia board.
Blessings!

I see, so it snot a mystery to be solved LOL

Have a great day my friend

Hi Stephen, good to run across you here, I love your squirrels. They are a
Nuisance at times, but very enjoyable and entertaining to watch.
Upvoted in my own little way @papilloncharity

Thank you Jerry and it's also good to see you here!
I enjoy their naughtiness and forever try to outwit them, it has even turned out to be a game that we play.
Blessings to you my friend!

Thank you my friend I am at the chiropractor right now but I'll get back to you when I get home

Very interesting observations and great photos!
Squirrels are such cute animals.
I really liked the first photos, where the tail is illuminated by the sun. Very beautiful!

Thank you my friend and they are certainly wonderful little creatures.
We have a current hide and seek game going and it's great fun.
The sun enhances their beauty.
Blessings!

Oh my gossh I love squirrels! They are so fluffy and cute! Your photos were amazing, congrats for that!.It's so cute how you give then a personality just by seeing them

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you and we have a tendency to nickname resident animals.
Glad you liked the photos and the story.
Blessings!

What lovely photos ! These squirrels are having the time of their life :D So cute !!! Look at their tails * ___ * Precious, precious things <3 That first photo with the sun on the fur is just amazing <3

I love how you named them Crusoe and Chloe based on their behaviours :D So adorable~ (I wouldn't know how to tell the sexes apart hahaha~)

I really like that last photo with Chloe holding the nut against their chest :D What a lovely portrait !

Thank you my friend and they are indeed very cute.
I also like to get the sun behind them on camera, but lately the clouds spoil the game.
As I said somewhere else, we like to nickname animals often seen and personification is the name of the game. Imagine a talking squirrel hahaha
Blessings!

Hello Crusuoe and Cleo!
Papillon really did a good job for giving you both lovely royal names .😉😉 (royal good am wink) 😅

Have a nice day our dear @papilloncharity!

Hello Lady Joy! Crusoe and Cleo asked me to send you their love.
Only now do I realize that both their names start with a "C"
Crusoe said that he's more of a working guy, as he loves to explore the trees and Cleo said I must thank you for recognizing her as the queen of the world.
They also said that I must tell you to have a great week!
Blessings!

It's a long time since I last saw one. They used to be around but urbanisation has made them extinct in the big towns.

So sad whenever I hear that man's "progress" has displaced the resident animals.
We are certainly the absolute destroyers of the planet my friend!

We definitely are, and the earlier we look at that, the better for all of us

Nice :) I think your one of your tag is wrong, maybe you can fix it. (qurator)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you my friend and wow, you certainly have sharp eyes.
I have fixed the @qurator tag and thank you once again my friend!
Blessings!

You are welcome sir :) Do you find the new object today ??

Yes I did and I will post in a little while my friend!
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34