Some more Surprises in the Apple Valley!

Sunbirds are known to love sugar and sweet things, but moths?

Thought that I would show you some new things that I saw here on the apple farm today. I saw that the Ground-thrush, a confirmed meat and worm eater also eats fruit, but I was quite shocked to see a Sunbird with a moth in its beak.
Not that there is a lack of many juicy tulip flowers especially now in the Spring season, but this little one has chosen to vary its diet!

This is where I saw her. Maybe she is going to feed this to her babies?

Many of you have liked the metallic colors of the Longicorn beetles that I posted yesterday! Here is a couple making more Longicorn beetles!

And then another surprise!

This is a very strange and very beautiful succulent plant (Aloe?) at our place and here is its normal appearance!

But look what happens to it in Spring! It projects its seeds out like a telescope!

This is what its crown looks like and I will wait for it to flower, as it's going to be fabulous I'm sure!

I was told that if one thinks that they know everything, then they are in fact stupid and believe me when I say that in a lifetime it is impossible to know everything. Each day holds new lessons in a variety of contexts and I simply love surprises. Good or bad, as how else would I learn to keep the good and to shed the bad. We are shaped by our knowledge, but as this projecting plant, we are expected to eventually, in the right period or season of our lives, sprout into wisdom. Think about it!

Hope you liked the pictures and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Succulent looks amazing, look forward to seeing the blooms. Never seen a sunbird catch moths or meat in any form, another lesson in life. Brilliant photography thanks for sharing @papilloncharity

@joanstewart Good to see you Lady Joan. We had a heartsore moment at one of the old age homes. As we delivered their donation of adult nappies and an ambulance was also there. Two of the oldies were taken out from frail care to the hospital. I was told that their time will soon come and all the residents are always nervous when they see this. Imagine sitting helpless and discarded in a home waiting for death. I pray that I will never end up like this! Blessings!

That is never a nice thing to experience, the longer you are able to stay independent and live a healthy life, the better off you are.

Old age homes do their best, but yes it is a place where many live their last days, alone and fearing death. It is not so much death, but how it will come knocking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95