Nature's gratitude for rain!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

IMG_1264.JPG

What a beautiful way to say thank you for the rain!

I don't know the name of this succulent, but when I saw it just after the rain, my thought was to show you it's beauty.
Then afterwards the thought also dawned to go the whole hog and to show you a variety of succulents that also enjoyed the rain. Hope that you will like the pictures!
Feast your eyes on nature!

IMG_1321.JPG

IMG_1980.JPG

IMG_2032.JPG

As you can see, there's a wide variety of succulents here and they are drinking water now in order to survive the winter.
Succulents are hardy plants that can even survive in the desert, as they store their own water. They are not finicky and even when all other plants in the garden die, the succulents will survive!

IMG_2024.JPG

IMG_2023.JPG

IMG_2041.JPG

IMG_2047.JPG

IMG_1936.JPG

A signal at sunrise this morning that more rain is coming!

A great exercise for the succulent lovers here on steemit, would be to search and to identify each of the plants in this post. Or maybe I should create a weekly challenge by posting singular photos of the plants and the winner that identifies the plant can win a holiday somewhere in the Arctic, or at the North Pole? Or maybe the Sahara Desert? Hahaha

We hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

PHC-Footer-05.gif

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

steem verified!.png

@curie @qurator @ocd-resteem @phototalent @dropahead

Sort:  

Those are looking so happy now!
I know the third one is an Opuntia. Then lower is Echeveria, Kalanchoe, another Kalanchoe (I have both of them), and the last I dunno.. Graptosedum maybe? Beautiful one!

@nikv can you ID the first one?

Please tag me Stephen the next time you post some of the succulents :)

Great thank you Lady Eve.
It was my first time to see the first one and it was in the garden of the post about the bronze statue that I posted before this post.

We will be going back there to the farm and I will ask them if I can take a piece, as it is absolutely beautiful.

Glad that you liked it and in future I will be sure to tag you.
Blessings!

Btw! This one I know as it's called a Aeonium undulatum (stalked)

IMG_2012.JPG

And it is a gorgeous looking Aeoniom! I hope my ones will grow this big eventually.

Glad that you have them!
Blessings!

What a gorgeous selection of shots, Succulents sound like a plant I should consider for if or when I start a garden I need ones that are easily to look after ;)

Great plants these JJ, they surely look after themselves and some of them have the most beautiful flowers.
We have gardens here that they call "rockeries" and it's basically half round circles of natural rocks in a sunny corner. The bottom level is filled with river sand and compost and the next layers are laid in a step like way. Each additional layer is filled with compost and the plants are planted in the steps.
I don't know if you have seen this before?
If not, then I will send you a photo.
Blessings!

I think I have seen them and love that Idea, I would love a garden like that :)

Congratulations @papilloncharity! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you!
Blessings!

Those are expert rain storing plants. Reminds me a bit of arizona plants.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you and I am sure that many of them are all over the world!
Blessings!

ohh is very beautiful flowers, the name in my country is : Captus and rubber. have a great day

Thank you my friend and I am glad that you know these flowers!
Blessings!

What a lovely capture ..all freshen up after the rain....especially the second pic....what it is ?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you my friend and I am still trying to find out what the plant is called.
Blessings!

Hahaha....it gives a very interesting look..very attractive

Posted using Partiko Android

Good job... Best regards... 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!
Blessings!

Succulents and cacti always have the most beautiful flowers Stephen, never seen that first one in bloom what a display!

Finding the right names sometimes more challenging, a lot of research required there being so many different plants available.

Thank you and I love them Lady Joan.
Still searching for the first one, as it has silvery leaves.
Blessings!

Awesome post:

Thank you!
Blessings!

Hello @papilloncharity
All the photographs are beautiful. but i like first one most from all of them it is awesome..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76