Dragonflies action at the apple farm dams.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

In flight and check out their reflection (shadow) in the water!

They are a mating pair and he is guiding and protecting her to fetch some water. The great news is that we no longer have to drive a distance to reach a special spot in nature, as now we have four farm dams on our doorstep.
This was my first dragonfly hunt since we are here and I hope you enjoy some of the pictures.
Let's have a look!

He came in, he sat, I snapped and he was gone!

Here is a couple doing the thing called love!

Beautiful colors and pretty rocks!

Here is a closer look at the pretty rocks!

I love the aero-dynamics of their wings, as they were designed to zoom anywhere but loose!

And finally, she has just scooped up some water!

As it was my first dragonfly hunt, I have to consider the light for future hunts, as the water and the shades, including the sun can play all kinds of tricks on one. Of course the speed of these little wonders also enter into the equation. A couple of practice runs and I am sure that I will find the right conditions.
Hope you have enjoyed the pictures!

Thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Oh my god! I cannot believe you were able to capture this! I haven't even seen a single dragonfly, yet you are face to face with an exclusive couple :D

I have many dragonfly shots my friend, fond memories of me training myself as a photographer. Thank you and all blessings to you! @haritakurdu

Good photography shots in nature @papilloncharity the smallest being the hardest to capture most days.

The greater the challenge, the more I like life lady Joan. Thank you and blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50