A Day Hunting Damselflies!

Due to the dragonflies being so popular, I have neglected these little wonders!

The term Dragonflies is commonly used to describe the order of insects known as the "Odonata" which describes two sub-orders namely Anisoptera (dragonflies) and Zygoptera (damselflies). Odonata means a "toothed jaw) in Greek and some dragonflies have fierce jaws to rip their prey apart. 850 species of dragonflies and damselflies can be found in Africa.
Let's have a look!

This is the farm dam where I took the shots today!

All of the above pictures are of different types of damselflies. Specie: "Zygoptera"

And here I will show you the difference between damselflies and dragonflies!

This is a dragonfly of the dropwing species called a "Scarlet Dropwing" Bigger and more robust than the damselflies.
There are also many species of dragonflies and some 104 species can be found here. Species: "Anisoptera"

All information was taken from the book; "Dragonflies and Damselflies" by Warwick & Michele Tarboton. ISBN 978-1-77584-184-5

All photos were taken by myself!

We hope you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

What an awesome selection of shots so beautiful my friend

Thank you JJ, coming from you it always means so much to me! Blessings!

Just the honets truth :)

Immaculate photography once again, so glad you know the difference, they normally just wiz past my head leaving no opportunity to photograph, let alone identify.

Thank you! They really took my interest Lady Joan, as at many times I saw others taking great pictures of them and so I challenged myself! The rest is history! Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66095.52
ETH 3595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49