Why are people reluctant to pay for creative work?

in #photography6 years ago

I have been a photographer for around 24 years now...

Ask anyone in the creative field and they'll tell you, finding work is easy, I just mention I'm a photographer and people will tell me all about their child/dog/van/house/wedding that they'd LOVE to have photographed... But then it all falls apart when you tell them it's £xxx

You might even get a shocked look and a "Really that much?" If you asked them 'how much do you get paid' (Which they would probably consider rude) it would generally come down to around £100-130 a day.

What that wouldn't include is their office equipment, computer, insurance, maintenance, electricity, pens, envelopes, HR person, book keeper and all the other things that are needed to keep somebody gainfully employed. What does that add to the cost of employing someone?

I used to own a percentage share in a firm of Chartered Accountants and it was NEVER the same. People see accountancy as something that can be negotiated... There's a price and you pay it.

So... I just have to ask WHY is it considered acceptable to offer creative people 'exposure' over paying for what they do?

Anyone know the reason? Please enlighten me!

PK_ 0111.jpg

Sort:  

@pak43uk, I gave you a vote!
If you follow me, I will also follow you in return!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69