When Herons fly. - Perspective of herons as they get ready to take flight.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Heron is a bird type that can easily confused with storks because of appearances and similarities.  They can be found on every continent except Antarctica.  Herons prefer wetlands, swamps, coastlines, rivers, ponds and lakes... Water pollution with metals and chemicals are destructive their habitat and causes decrease in numbers in the wild.  

A few random facts about herons: 

  • Herons can be recognized by their long s-shaped neck, long legs and dagger like bill.  
  • Herons eat mainly fish but also will include frogs small mammal, birds, reptiles and insects. 
  • Herons are excellent flyers and can reach the speed of 30mph.
  • Herons are active during the day and night and can see perfectly during both thanks to their yellow eyes. 
  • Herons can survive up to 15 years in the wild and around 25 years in captivity. 
  • Herons choose new mats for mating each year and both birds take care of their chicks.  

I choose to share these two pictures of herons taking off for flight.  I think they are perfect!  :)


** some information/facts acquired from softschools.com

#heron #flight #wildlife

Sort:  

Nice @ozhiya

wow nice bird, ditmpat us very much the birds, i upvote and resteem

You're continued support and fabulous @humaidi! Thanks so much!!! :)

you are welcome my friend, I have a new post if you can visit if not no problem my friend

this is a beautiful stork my friend, in our place too much, they play in the fields and watering place.
my friend there are new posts ...

I've grown up seeing herons all the time around where I grew up and I grew up on a barrier island in Florida. @jasonmunapasee, thanks for the comment! :)

Waaawwww... Amazing..
Awesome picture..

The two pictures are perfect indeed, are the pictures yours? Thank you for sharing this.

Yes these are pictures I captured a couple of years ago, @sirsensei!

Beautiful bird
Nice photography
Good job my friends @ozhiya
I upvote and resteem

@agussafrizal, thank you for your lovely comments and support! 😊

yes I will always support you, and will always follow every new post you, i will vote and resteem, I hope we can always be friends and support each other, ok dear @ozhiya😍😍, do you have social media like facebook or instagram?
please reply in my comments

nice bird my friend, very beautiful, I upvote and resteem, visit my blog also my friend let me add the spirit

hi. @ozhiya wonderful photo shot. good job.. congrats... #Resteem your post

@dilrukshs, thanks for our support!

Good photography

wow wonderful Photography.
Thanks @ozhiya
Have a great day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46