The Treaty Oak - oldest living thing in Jacksonville, Florida

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

There is a very old southern live oak tree here in Jacksonville, Florida called the Treaty Oak.  The tree is considered to have a octopus shape to it.  The tree is estimated to be about 250 years old making it the single oldest living thing in the city of Jacksonville.  It predates the founding of the city by Isaiah Hart in the 1820s. The tree is called Treaty Oak because a treaty was signed next to the tree by the native Floridans.  Before that the tree was known simply as Giant Oak.  Here are a couple of pictures of the tree.  It's a massively huge tree! 


#tree #florida #jacksonville #treatyoak  #ozhiya #alirivka

Sort:  

Oh wow that is a huge tree! What stories I bet it could tell if it could talk! I wonder how old this tree was. It was in Nicaragua, but I don't remember what kind of tree it was bigtree.jpg

Wow, @adammillwardart what a big tree!!! I take it that you are​ in the photo with the tree? It's just amazing that a tree is that big and in Nicaragua. Nature simply amazes me! I ​have wondered in the past about what kind of stories ​old trees and things of the such could tell. I've followed you and look forward to checking out posts from you!

Yes that's me, the photo is from a while ago though, I'm not so fat anymore lol

Wow amazing tress. excellent photography
@ozhiya
100% like and resteem

Many thanks to ​my friend, @stmit!

This is wonderful photography
Upvote Resteem

Thanks for supporting me, @shavishtha!

Amazing tress

Fantastic photography.
Resteem Service

that's a really massive tree! doesn't the roots cause problems with the pavement or the house? I know roots of massive trees can deteriorate the foundations of things :/

@kivsha, I know they've done some renovations in the area around the tree in the past. They made it a little park around the tree. Perhaps they made the park because​ of the roots and stuff.

A wonderful spot with amazing trees. Nice photography.

Many thanks, @bunnypuncher, for taking the time to support my post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94