Random Photo Moment #8️⃣ - Oh Look...a Kitten on a Yoga Ball!😸

in #photography7 years ago

IMG_4268.JPG

Here's how this works: I "spin" the wheel on my camera roll, so to speak. And blindly select a random picture when it stops.

Today I landed on a partially edited photo of my beloved Max from about a year or so ago, when he was a kitten. At the time, he was obsessed with my yoga ball. I did a few series's of him on it; he's just such a perfect, cooperative model.

When I landed on this image, I had to fight really hard not to edit it. I have to fight really hard on a daily basis not to attempt perfection before posting here and on other formats. That's a big reason why I started this 'Random Photo Moment' series of posts. I need to get over myself.

The world is ever changing. I used to believe I'd always keep up. I would be the exception to the rule. And I'd never get stuck in a rut of my own glory days. I'd always be up on the latest music, the coolest fashions, the current trends.

But more and more when I open my mouth, I hear my mother's voice coming out. Or - even more horrifyingly - my grandmother's. I've actually caught myself muttering the phrase, "Kids these days..."

So what does this rant have to do with why I'm so conflicted about posting a partially edited photo of my cat? Simple: I'm a GenXer. I was raised in an era - and/or maybe just an environment - where we were taught to never let them see the man behind the curtain. We didn't show you the 'behind-the-scenes'. We didn't ramble on in stream-of-consciousness to anyone outside of our most intimate circle. And we didn't share anything but the final, polished, perfect product.

Nowadays it seems that people want the blunders and the ramblings and the reality leading up to all that. Perhaps they even prefer it to the shiny results. I'm not comfortable with that. I'm not sure that I ever will be. But I'm trying to adapt. Really I am.

IMG_1436.JPG

'The Sprightly King Takes the RED Planet, Volumes I, II, and III' © Lisa L Peters

Sort:  

Nice editing. I like your little bits of wisdom that come with each photo. :)

Thank you! The writer in me can't keep her mouth shut. 😄

Its very nice post.

Smuggling a cat out of ancient Egypt was punishable by death. Phoenician traders eventually succeeded in smuggling felines, which they sold to rich people in Athens and other important cities.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50