Mexico Signage Tulum - Photography

in #photography7 years ago

Signage

I've always been fond of hand drawn signage. I once noticed a very faded 3d text sign which looked as though it was from a bygone era on a wall in Liverpool, near to the baa bar in the city centre. A place I thought I knew like the back of my hand. I was stunned to see Ridge Brothers in epic, faded text. My great Grandfather and his Brother ran an electro-plating business there, the sign and a part of my own family history, which I had not noticed before in my entire life was suddenly right in front of me.

In Mexico I saw some great examples of handdrawn signage including this faithfully reproduced Coca-cola logo on a stippled wall. I saw quite a few Coca cola signs hand made in villages passing through Yucatan.

104772882901 - tortillas for sale.jpg

  • Tortillas for sale. Underneath the old hand painted sign still just visible. This new laminated version is a sign of the times

104772956956 - coca cola signage.jpg

  • Coca Cola logo painted on a stipple finish wall. A tricky feat

104772726961 - mexican signage.jpg

  • Please do not use the Force - itourmexico.com

104773034906 - wall pork.jpg

  • This little piggy went to market, smelled roast beef and was then quickly thrown in the pot for pulled pork tacos

104772810791 - toilet signage mexico.jpg

  • Toilet Signage itourmexico.com
Sort:  

Love them all! Thanks for sharing!

thanks@mmjintheusa ... just for the alien lady ( I know her) you got a new follower !

“Please don't use force” is hilarious @outerground! Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

thanks @photo-trail I've seen some folk star wars art in my time, but this one was a winner ! I actually really loved the pig.. drawn with so much appetite for the eating !

Absolutely love t he Star Wars reference sign!

That first one, though... Should be "Se venden tortillas," since I'm assuming they are selling more than one!

Fun finds. It looks like had a good time with the photography!

me too.. star wars folk art is the best.. if you notice, the original hand painted sign underneath also said vende.. I can only assume that's because they *sell by weight *( 1 kilo) that they chose sell as a singular not plural verb .. this is Tulum in Mexico, pretty sleepy little place where it probably doesn't matter if you're selling 1 kilo or 1 tortilla :) not that I'm an expert in linguistics..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54