I'm going to tell you a story with several Photographs

in #photography7 years ago

A picture paints a Thousand words

Today I was in the West End, London. It's a place of commerce, shopping, wealth & money. You can smell the aroma of fresh fifty pound notes hanging in the air. I will introduce the first image.

At the Back of John Lewis there was an old lady playing Accordion sitting strategically next to the traffic crossing. The rest of the story is a follows;

B_DSC0426_small.jpg

b_DSC0431_small.jpg

B_DSC0429_crop.jpg

B_DSC0427_crop.jpg

B_DSC0428_crop.jpg

B_DSC0430_small.jpg

I really like the fact that I'm in this story and that happiness can co-exist with adversity. I took the shots with a kit lens 18-55mm on a Nikon D3200 which is a light and unobtrusive camera for street photography. example exif = 1/ 160th @ f3.8 ISO 200

Sort:  

Thanks @brightongreg it was a gift.. And I did pop a little something in her pink bucket !

I'm trying to challenge myself by telling more people stories !

For some reason I woke up this morning and thought this story would be perfect for #mypictureday. Found this great idea a few days ago, have to get out and try it myself. Are you familiar with it? If not, here's some info I saved:

PHOTOGRAPHY DAY
Let us know how your PhotographyDay looks like! Grab your camera (or mobile phone) and go out, take some shots and share them on Steemit!
The best PictureDay post gets 50 SteemPower onto his account, the second place 25 SteemPower and the third place 10 SteemPower. Honorable mentions will receive 5 SteemPower.
How to you participate?

• Make a photography post with at least three shots and tag them with the hashtag: mypictureday and photography, resteem this post.
• Important! Write MyPictureDay in the title of the post. For instance: Flower Power - MyPictureDay Submission
• Only use your own work. You are not allowed to use any stock images. Every entry will be reverse-searched and automatically disqualified when other peoples content was found.
• The pictures must be from the week of the entry.
• Deadline for your entry is every Saturday 8 pm UTC.
• Write us what you did on this day and what camera you used for your shots.
• You can use any device that takes pictures. iPhones, DSLRs, analog cameras, any phone etc.

I think your story sequence is a perfect fit for this! Give it a try.

Thanks @Brightongreg.. great tip & nice that you thought of me ! will do it now.. actually I'm not sure I can. I've already posted it.. however I do have some more shots from yesterday !

I've done it ! it's a different set with a looser story !

Great talent you have there! Look at the colors, her shoes and the bucket, priceless..

thanks @tamacvet. I think the lady employs great marketing finesse with her matching shoes and bucket !

A great story in Photos Love how her bright pink bucket matche her shoes, also makes a kind of comment on society that the one person giving a donation is an older gentleman not a young well off banker

But then again maybe he is an older well off banker :)

Thanks @tattoodjay. the fact that the old guy looks quite well off is where the story gets interesting for me. Who knows what the connection is? perhaps he related to the fact that she's old, like him. Maybe he had a poor start in life, is he a widower? all questions, we'll never know.. what's nice is that we can see that the coin he dropped in is the highest coin he could drop into the bucket (it's a 2 pound coin) and I really like the way she smiled at the odd situation of me taking a photo of him giving her the money !!

Yes indeed it's a story still developing in the mind of each person who reads this post and can have so many varied interpretations based on the readers viewpoint

Touching story.
(And I miss London so much, btw. :( ..... )

thanks @realmandi. I thought it was one of those sweet moments you don't see everyday so it was worth capturing.. I was in the right place at the right time !

Sad, but well executed story @outerground. Since when you're using a Nikon?

Thanks @lighteye. I think the lady busking looked happier and healthier than many old people I've seen ! so there's something positive. She had a lovely smile behind that melancholy expression.

the Nikon has become my main camera. It's not as moody as my Lumix but it's a steady workhorse and I can use 4 different fully compatible lenses with it.. the 18-55 kit lens for daily use. like todays shots. / 14mm ultra-wide angle, f2.8 (21mm on a DX) (Lyme Regis & Astrophotography) / 70-300mm -The Cycle Path and other candid shots... & the elegant and rather lovely 105mm nikkor / macro, some of the very short field depth macro nature.. I have so many bits and pieces from 30 years of collecting camera junk. and I think I have about 12 cameras in total ! like everyone else, I just use the same 4 bits of kit over and over !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69394.55
ETH 3894.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73