Abandoned Shoes - ASW

in #photography6 years ago

The Untold Stories of Abandoned Shoes

I've written about my fascination with abandoned shoes before. It started when I was a kid. I was both horrified and fascinated imagining how anyone could lose their shoes. It seemed unbelievable and when I'd see them I'd be aghast as my fertile imagination came up with scenarios to explain the loss of something seemingly so important to one's journey, metaphorically and figuratively. If you've lost your shoes, how do you continue? In life as well as to your immediate destination. I began photographing abandoned shoes about 10 years ago and I have built up quite a collection. Some seem like real evidence of horror or murder stories, others filled with the intrigue of a spy movie. I've seen beautiful shoes, very poor condition shoes and even slippers. Abandoned loafers in London's most expensive streets, cowboy boots behind the church and most recently, a pair of size 9, smart brown brogues sitting nonchantlanty against a wall as if the wearer abandoned them to leap over it.

37833458019 - discarded white pumps by primark ellingfort road bw.jpg
discarded white pumps, Ellingfort Road, Hackney London

This photo haunts my memory.

It's a cheap pair of very well used abandoned pumps / (sneakers) from a discount high street shope, left neatly paired on a garden wall. They reminded me of the type kids wore for Phys Ed in school when I was a child and they were women's flimsy shoes. There was a real air of sadness about them. The ground in dirt giving the wearer a poor appearance no doubt. Hey, who knows ? perhaps they had been bought specially for attending a muddy music festival or had been at a concert in the park. Knowing that they were a really cheap pair of shoes, seeing how well worn they'd been and the way they'd been left so neatly made me wonder about the owner. What their story was. It felt intuitively sad. Although I've seen far more dramatic #abandonedshoes in my time with perhaps more violent and torrid suggestions, this pair loom large in my mind when I think of abandoned shoes and their cavernous stories. I think it's because when I was a kid, the kids with crap shoes were poor. It was a mark of low income. It always made me feel sad to see a kid in poor shoes. I was really lucky always having good shoes and I often sat and polished mine until they shone. Perhaps like most art or expression, it says far more about the artist than the subject.

Sort:  

Yeah, shoes can really tell a story. I had similar thoughts like you about them, lots of questions, who left them there and why.
I had idea to make photo series about shoes, not abandoned ones, but to use them more as a portrait of personality. We will see how that turns out.
I love your idea about abandoned shoes, I am looking forward to see more photos.

@aprilia thanks for the comment. I'd like to see your shoe portraits. I had a similar idea (great minds think alike) and it was to ask people to be photographed with their favourite outfit (and all their other clothes laid out) to form a picture of someone via their choice of clothing. Your shoe portraits would no doubt be quite powerful.. especially if they were taken in the wearers environment so we glimpse a portion of their lives too !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43