You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Photo Story: Onboard the Concorde in Scotland

in #photography7 years ago

Great article! I flew on a British Airways Concorde from New York to London in December of 1994 and it took a little over 3 hours. There was a red digital readout on the bulkhead wall that posted the speed Mach 1, Mach 1.5, Mach 2. I was in a window seat and the windows were small and thick I suppose like something on the Space Shuttle or an Apollo Rocket. The windows heated up when we were flying at top speed and it was uncomfortable to touch them with my bare hand. We had to change planes in London to catch another flight to Nice, France and that 2 hour flight on a conventional jet felt kind of old fashioned.

Sort:  

That is awesome. What an amazing experience that would have been. I have read that the plane heats up due to the speed and that one of the main engineering problems they had to overcome was the metal fatigue on the plane caused by the frequent heating up and cooling down of the planes outer shell.
The Concorde would cruise at 60,000ft so you flew twice as high as conventional airliners as well :) I envy you.

I didn't remember about the altitude but 60,000 is way up there. I have also been on a Gulfstream G5 and I know they fly higher around 50,000 and the ride is smoother up there.

Wow! Concorde and a Gulfstream? nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64689.27
ETH 3135.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56