My visit to the beautiful Bed & Breakfast on The Haggard's Hilldrop House premises

in #photography6 years ago

Recently I paid a visit to one of our town's most famous landmarks, part of Haggard's Hilldrop House, where Sir Rider Haggard briefly resided in 1881. Sir Rider Haggard, the author of famous works of fiction such as King Solomon's Mines, She, Allan Quatermain, and many more, drew much of his inspiration for his imaginative novels from the time he lived in South Africa. Apart from his famous literary legacy, he also lived quite a fascinating life. 

Earlier this week I shared the story of H Rider Haggard, and explained he had lived in our town of Newcastle South Africa, for a brief period in 1881. 

Part One

Part Two

These historical grounds have since become the premises of a beautiful bed & breakfast, and I am sharing photos of the scenic surroundings of this peaceful location.

The two Louis's (the museum curator, and his friend, the guide), my sister and daughter, with me documenting the moment!

My youngest son on a mission.

This building is being built for an outdoor wedding venue.

This chair belonged to H Rider Haggard. It is not kept at Haggard's Hilldrop House, but at the Fort Amiel Museum, the visit to which I have also previously covered.

@onetree

Sort:  

Voted & commented

I missed your comment?

What a nice place for a quiet rest! It has a swimming pool!! Very nice! How about the food? What kind of food do they have for boarders?

So very green too, that chair looks a bit spooky!

Cheers.

I have no idea what food they serve, probably traditional South African. Yes, the chair is a bit creepy. :)

I have to go back and read your previous post. This is such a beautiful place. Everything in your photos is so pristine. The fact that you are all running around barefoot in the cool green grass makes it real, since we all know how good that feels. Great post. 🐓🐓

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61402.08
ETH 3386.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49