Travel with me: journey from Gävle to Seoul

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I'm in Seoul!!!


The entire journey took a day and a half. I had to board a few trains and planes. The Istanbul International Airport was the worst – crappy service everywhere and no free WiFi, despite multiple claims to the contrary. The trip from the Incheon Airport to the metro system in Seoul was the best: I got to talk to two traveling girls from Russia, one of whom was a teacher and the other a programmer. Lucky me! :) We had enough time on the train to discuss traveling, languages, cryptocurrencies, fiat money vs. gold, and Steemit. Of course, they both had received my Steemit business cards before we had to say goodbye. :D

Check the video summary of my travel below:


I promise it'll be worth it, if you watch the entire video to the end ;)

Upon arrival at the Seoul International Airport Incheon, I was met by two young esperantists who help organise the congress that I'll be attending here next week. They were kind to help me figure out the public transportation fares and the ticket system. You can see one of them on the photo above.

The humid and hot air hit me in the face like a wall, once I got from the air-conditioned metro train. I had to get a little aid to make it home from the metro: Powerade, Winter Olympics 2018 edition!

I also bought a tasty onigiri, but I was too hungry and ate it up, before I could take a picture. Sorry!

Finding the apartment I booked on AirBnB was a cakewalk. My host left very clear direction, along with this sweet welcome letter and style traditional Korean sweet snacks:


In my next post I will share with you what I did on my first evening in Seoul. Hint: it was awesome! Stay tuned! ;)


Sort:  

This submission has made it on the @MutuWhale MutuList!

Its great picture. Please follow me if you want more style pictures. @oleg326756

Thank you, but I think I'll pass on this incredible offer…

Great post buddy..
Upvoted

Looks so good!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by oleg326756 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

That ending of the video lol.

Are you a train person? I know some people just love to travel on them as it gives them time to meet new people and interact.

Yeah, guilty as charged: I love trains! In the past I barely ever took a plane to travel within Europe, opting for a train trip instead.

I'm looking forward to go to Busan by train to meet @scrooger a week from now. But for now I'm focused on exploring Seoul. Which reminds me: I need to get off this page and go find breakfast. LoL

When you wont to travel to achenes?

Hopefully this fall – to meet Theo, Elena, and you! ;)

Ofcourse my senior steemian. Iam gladly to do that.
Maybe I hope you can teach me and help me to be greate writer in steemit. I have learn my blog yours.
I have latest post. Give some support in steemit.
Many blessing for u sir

Mate you are going to love it here! Glad yoru trip went well and that you arrived safely. Told you about the heat right! Hehe, good luck with it. Stay hydrated!

Your host got you the good yakwa. Those are pretty cool!

Also, you will fall in love about every 20 minutes. South Korea honestly has some of the most beautiful woman you will ever see. Just a fair warning so you don't get your hear broken to many times. =P I can try and help with anything if you need it. Seems like you are in good hands though! Have fun mate! =)

Man, indeed your warning about the heat was timely! Your other warning, however, was too late! I came home yesterday bewildered and excited. Two tipsy Korean girls tried to flirt with me in the supermarket… in Korean! Language barriers, grr... I think they were encouraging me to buy more beer and share it with them, haha! :D

Hahaha! Yeah they will flirt for beer. Careful, especially in clubs or bars. Not all of them though. Having fun so far? Also, if you are going to drink soju. It doesn't feel as strong as it is, BUT it comes around like a ninja and kicks you in the face. Going from a little tipsy to word slurring drunk real fast. Hehe. Koreans have trained to drink soju so don't try to keep up if you are drinking with them. They like sharing and drinking with foreigners. =)

I was wise enough to stay away from soju tonight, only drinking a glass of beer. I'm going to give it a try sometimes in the coming week, though. Excited to see the effects. I have never really gotten drunk yet, just a little tipsy.

Also, cool it with the followers! You have taken the lead! I need to get more posts out and catch up. =)

Yeah, you better start catching up, mate! :-P Haha, don't worry, I won't be posting as often, while I'm traveling. But hopefully the content of my posts will make up for the reduced frequency of posting. People love travel stories!

Yeah your travel stories are cool. Liked the video. Do more videos, short ones. Really cool. I am taking it easy this weekend... Creating my next analogy in my head =)

This post has received a 0.82 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @oleg326756.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68425.65
ETH 2646.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68