Woodcraft

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

In the modern era, everything is made of plastic, steel or glass. We slowly replaced wood and we don't use it even for heating anymore.

There are still some people left who like to work with wood, and these people have become true artists.

One of them was from the neighboring province of Saskatchewan. He took an 8-hour drive to put his work on display and on sale in the hall at K-Days festival in Edmonton.

20180726_152527.jpg

50 bucks is a good price for the grizzly bear.

20180726_152144.jpg

Stand with some nice small home decorations.

20180726_152221.jpg

Imagine your steemit name carved into the chair.

20180726_152429.jpg

Cute little tree-unit birdhouse.

20180726_152305.jpg

Cartoon portraits.

20180726_152544.jpg

This table with four chairs was sold.

2000 CAD was the price tag.

20180726_152355.jpg

Look at the colors of the wood.

20180726_163354.jpg

I took the shot of his chandelier in the mining office in the old gold mine on K-days.

We have a rainy day at 16 degrees Celsius but I don't care too much, because in just a couple of days and I'm leaving.

Don't waste your Saturday, my friends.

Sort:  

Carving my Steemit name into that chair might have a too negative impact I think ...

Beautiful work. If I was capable of such things, I think I'd have a hard time parting with them. I admire those who can create such fantastic things.

Thank you for posting. Impressive and creative woodworking from "true artists". That dinner room table/chairs and chandelier! Here is my recent purchase (the coasters) from a creative young woodworker (and street artist) here in LA called nickynailedit; who also is traveling to Barcelona this month. I showed him your blogs (maybe Casa Batllo and others) as he was not aware of the level of wood craftsmanship there.

Coasters.jpg

Hello how are you? a beautiful exhibition, those who work wood are true artists create with their hands and tools great images that we can feel
Greetings from Venezuela

Thank you for the comment.

I love wood carvings. Every time I go to Jamaica I make it my duty to come back with a nice, new piece for my home. Wood craftsmen are everywhere down there, most of them make their living doing so. Very cool

Wood is warm and perfect for home decoration. Sometimes at the border crossing, it's not allowed to bring wood into Canada.

Yes, I agree. Wood gives the home a nice, natural feel with a sense of relaxation, too. Why is it that they don't allow wood across the border into Canada, any specific reasoning ??

https://steemit.com/health/@shanulove/digital-world-is-a-curse
Comment and upvote my article we are new help each other

Aloha🍍 i found your post from just trolling the art feed.. seen your wood bear and thought..wow that must have taken some time to carve🧡. I love handmade crafts and always support 100% . I too am a crafter and know that it can be very hard to get what you deserve for your time. Thank you for sharing 💛

Hello friend, the art of joinery, is very broad and beautiful and perhaps depending on the climate and culture of each country is given the importance required here in Venezuela is fashionable wood, there are entire villages that are dedicated to build from a toy to an elephant in wood, I also imagine that because it is an investment that lasts for years and if the proper maintenance is done they are kept in very good condition. For sample you sent this photo. Your excellent publication good shots thank you for sharing and great support. @oldtimer

You're welcome.

Thank you for reminding me of my grandfather with your text and photos! He was the best carpenter of his time in the society he lived in. Looking into your presentation of occupation that he was in to make me remember how precious he was...

You're welcome. I'm glad to hear that.

Fancy things. I like the birdhouse, but bear would be cool to. To scare the burglars :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17