Palau Sant Jordi - Barcelona

in #photography6 years ago

Today I'll show you a different architectural style. It's not the kind I like but maybe some of you will like it.

If not, then you'll at least learn some new stuff.

Our main reason for visiting Barcelona in April was to attend the concert of the great musician Roger Waters. Driving force of Pink Floyd, in case you don't recognize the name.

But that's another story.

Palau Sant Jordi is the largest indoor sporting arena in Spain and is part of the Olympic Ring complex located in Barcelona, Catalonia. Designed by the Japanese architect Arata Isozaki.

The Palau Sant Jordi was one of the main venues of the 1992 Summer Olympics Today it is used for all kinds of indoor sports events, music concerts, and other cultural activities, due to its great flexibility.

20180414_184855.jpg

Gladiators above the main entrance to the stadium.

20180414_184934.jpg

Here's the St. George Palace.

20180414_182419.jpg

Olympic spirit.

20180414_191752.jpg

Fountain with waterfall.

20180414_182548.jpg

Bell at the entrance to Olympic ring.

20180414_185053.jpg

Communications tower and the tubular lamps by the promenade.

20180415_001000.jpg

Outer stadium facade after the concert.

20180415_000059.jpg

20180414_233643.jpg

These two photos from the concert are needed to recover your vision after boring photos of the Olimpic ring.

I have no clue about architecture but for me, the old center of the city of Barcelona is way better.

I would really like to hear the Gaudi's opinion.

Have a great weekend, my friends.

Sort:  

Hello friend, The old part of Barcelona is for me the cradle of architecture, since it has incredible facades of many years that contains a lot of history and culture, together with its beautiful vegetation form a great landscape to enjoy, the great works of Gaudi. The Palau Sant Jordi, I think it is very visionary but at the same time it does not have any similarity to the architecture of Gaudi, it will be because of the habit of seeing his works so full of life, but as for all there are different tastes, I am still betting on the work of Gaudi, and only in the concerts gives a lot of life to the Palau Sant Jordi, greetings and I really liked your publication and learned something new @oldtimer

I really want to visit Barcelona and walk through those streets ande joy the cities

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow The concert pictures look amazing! Although I also liked the statues you showed above you could say that is part of the history of all these works architectural, the photos you bring us are fantastic thanks for sharing with us :)

Hello how are you? I follow a person who traveled to Barcelona and I have had the good fortune to know a lot through his photos. The architecture that shows today for me is beautiful, it is ancient architecture and for me it is very nice
The photos of the concert is something that dazzles so many lights I've never been to a concert I really appreciate your photos
Greetings from Venezuela

howdy today @oldtimer! I thought every photo was magnificent but now I can't wait to see the older architecture in downtown Barcelona!

Nice pictures, keep up the great work!

😍 Roger Waters 😱 I'm a little jealous @oldtimer

I think he still touring. Check it out.

Wao! THESE ARE REALLY BEAUTIFUL PLACES. IT SHOWS THAY SPAIN IS A BEAUTIFUL COUNTARY. I WISH TO VISIT IT SOMEDAY.

Reminds me of my time in Palma. The beautiful stepped alleyways and buildings that were older than my country! Ahhh Spain... :)

Hi @oldtimer... its been a while. Just wanna say hi to you and for this piece, i love it!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64