Al Mamzar Beach Park, Dubai

in #photography7 years ago

Around Halloween is the right time for holidays. The temperature of the sea and air become bearable for normal humans, like Canadians for instance. We were there a month later and we still catch some good weather. So; beach time.

DSCN9857.JPG

First impreasons were good. Very good.

DSCN9866.JPG

Nice roads, big parking lot, beautiful palm trees.

DSCN9726.JPG

DSCN9847.JPG

Swimers should be safe

DSCN9859.JPG

But something doesn't feel right. No people around. When I finally find information panel I'd find out what is all about. They have days for men and days for women and children. Too bad. No bikinis today.
But when I'd read further I find even worse news: No alcohol on the beach. Not a big deal. I'm used to that here in Canada.
But then the shocker came: Grilling porc prohibited. Common guys, you must be kidding me.

I should expect something like that. Did you see that cat in the third photo? That's why!

We had enough beach for today. We want to drink a beer or two, but unfortunately, you can do that only in hotels.
So we bought some pastries instead, to calm down and start waiting for night to fall. We'll go to Irish willage. I was assuming that words Irish and beer kind of fit together. I was right.

DSCN0042.JPG

At least pastries were delicious. They really were.

I didn't take a camera to the Irish pub. You never know how many beers will come on the table. I was sure that I saw a couple of moose on the way home and also took a shot.
But next morning after two aspirins I only saw this:

DSCN9739.JPG

Our first day was not perfect, but not bad either. Irish beer helps a lot to improve the first impresion.

20170222_143835.jpg

Maybe this one is from Abu Dhabi, but who cares. It's great, isn't it?

Steem on my friends!

See you

Sort:  

You found some desert moose I see :)

I'm quite sure they had antlers when we leave the pub, he, he.

Haha exactly Moose with humps on its back :)

Dubai is incredible!

Nice post and pictures! I hope to visit there someday.

A couple of Bitcoins and you good to go.

Well, I am working on that :D

Amazing photos!

I think this is the best post I read from you! "No Bikini Babes, No Alcohol But then the shocker came: Grilling porc prohibited." That's 😂 Hilarious haha - Awesome Post! P.S I also see moose sometimes after drinking, my doctor told me it's perfectly normal :)

It looks like you drink a lot in Sweden. In my country we usually see white mice after drinking.

Drinking is very popular in Sweden indeed. However we drink differently from lets say south of Europe where u relax and it's social laid back drinking where the goal is to stay relaxed and to enjoy the alcohol. In Sweden it seems that many times the main goal is to get hammered. It's not very good and I stay away from it nowadays - Because I don't want to see any white mice 🐭 when drinking :)

They say that short days and long winter have to do with that. Like in Canada. I read that you travel with the ferry to Denmark to buy a booze. Is this true?

That used to be true and partly still is. Now we have a bridge so people driver over to Denmark. However, they don't stop in Denmark anymore, they go all the way to Germany, by car and they sometimes even rent a trailer and fill it up - it's crazy ! The alcohol is controlled by the government in Sweden and sold through a store called Systembolaget ! It's one of my favorite stores j/k. Actually it's really expensive they tax the hell of the alcohol in Sweden.

We have the same rules in Dubai. You can buy it only in licensed shops and you need to get a permission for it. We go once per month usually and I feel like a child in a candy store when we reach it :)

hahah same feeling as mine. The goal is to restrict the consumption of alcohol, however we all know that "forbidden fruits" taste the Sweetest!

Beautiful beaches of Dubai. Very interesting post.. thanks for sharing..

"I was sure that I saw a couple of moose on the way" -.... I can tell you're canadian... @oldtimer!

He, He. More than I'm resisting, more I'm sinking in. Thanks for stopping by.

Amazing travel and photography @oldtimer hope you are enjoyed a lot in Dubai and Abu Dubai

Dubai looks incredible place loved the natural beauty with great architecture buildings !!

Hey @oldtimer , how are you ???
great post
Great story
and especially great pictures
I like this kind of story
I didn't think it was possible to find dubai alcohol
@geemo-from-paris

They serve alcohol in hotels and they have some special stores. But prices are crazy. In neighboring emirate Sharjah, you can buy much cheaper. Officially you can't pass the border with it, but the trick is that there is no physical border and no control. Just law.

@oldtimer
Yes and for tourists it is always easier
It's more risky for people who live down
I was in Tunisia, in small towns or Berber villages, impossible to buy alcohol, apart from illegally, it is crazy

If is too risky is just better to quit totally until you out of that country, and you safe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75