Pinecones are Cool!

Pinecone__PS__P1070519.jpg

I found a couple of them laying on the grass that bordered a parking lot. I didn't clean him up before shooting because I like the rough and natural look of him. You can see some hair-like looking things. I'm not sure if those are the actual seeds or just random debris. Obviously I'm no pinecone expert, but I always like the way they look, especially the spirals. I hear they grow according to the Fibonacci number sequence like many things in nature like sunflowers and snail shells. There are also male and female pinecones, who knew? lol.

P1070519.JPG

This is the plain picture without the black. I shot this with my Panasonic G7 and a Panasonic 30mm macro lens.

I cross posted this on my Niume page.
All images are mine and can be also found on my various social media sites.
Twitter https://twitter.com/VirtualPaul1
Niume https://niume.com/profile/101496#!/posts
YouTube https://www.youtube.com/c/OldGuyPhotography
YouTube (Main channel) www.youtube.com/paulw

Sort:  

Beautiful! You did a good job in photoshop too, it really pops out with the black. I have a Panasonic GH4 that I use primarily for video, but it takes great pics too, I love the micro 4/3 cameras. Just got a 16mm for Christmas and still aching to find the right subject. Looking forward to seeing more!

Oh yeah micro 4/3 is really nice coz I do a lot of YouTube vlogging and the G7 is small compared to say a Canon D70 and much lighter (and cheaper) as well. The GH4 is a really nice cam, do you shoot YT vids with it?

What a nice view of a pinecone! I like the one with the black background especially. I like the male pine cones. I harvest their pollen in the spring to eat. It's really good! They are a lot smaller than the females cones. You are in great pine country in Michigan!

Really? I never even heard of that before! That's what is so neat about this place is I learn something new every day! I am in very southern Michigan, and we don't have as many as they do up north. Thanks so much for stopping by. I much appreciate it!

I've never heard the term fibonacci before! If it's anything as fascinating as fractals in nature then I'm very excited to learn something new.

I love pinecones. I used to collect them all the time and imagine the poor pinecones yelling "HIDE! She's got the glue gun and glitter again!"

LOL indeed!!! Its craft time LOL!

Yes if you look for YouTube videos or google it, Fibonacci sequence is all over in nature. (You can then impress your friends with your new knowledge LOL)

Gotta love that fibonacci!

I know right, its everywhere. I even knew people that traded the stock market off of it!

Up close and beautiful!

Thanks! I find even mundane things are interesting up close!

Yes, I will try to find something mundane and photograph today.

Very nice to linger over such things. There is so much beauty around us if we take the time to examine it.

I love photography especially when it's accompanied by an explanation so I'll follow you. Keep up the good work!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Well thank you very kindly for the follow, Old Dog. I will try to not disappoint. I got a chuckle from your language mistakes, and followed you as well :) I should add I am only several days old in using this platform, so if you see me doing something totally stupid, let me know lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34