Photography: Smoke in the The Teepee

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/offgridlife-photography-smoke-in-the-the-teepee-fwkjso9z-1539514878582.png

Night Photography of our Teepee on Gitchee Gummee. Lake Superior Canada.

Made with Spruce poles and Recycled Canvas from the giant Astronaut Roberta Bondar Tent that was being replaced, discarded and sent to the local Landfill.

This is the pattern we used...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

That’s a beautiful photo my friend. Was it a canvas or natural animal skin teepee?

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is recycled canvas from a large tent on the waterfront that they were putting into a Landfill.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Up-cycling for the win!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Are you in Michigan ? The large Tent was on the Waterfront of Sault Ste Marie, Ontario.... across the water from Sault Michigan.

Yes I am. I have not been that way in some time.

Posted using Partiko iOS

The Big Chief from the Batchewana Indian band was getting it to reuse and we asked if we could also have a piece 40’ x 20’ for our Teepee down the beach.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That’s so cool that you got some.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah ... we were lucky. But we searched for old canvas for a few years

Posted using Partiko iOS

I’ve done the trusty blue trap teepee before. They work, but are not pretty.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah...the thin blue tarp was a mess in the strong winds ... flapping like crazy

Posted using Partiko iOS

We built the frame and then just used a blue tarp for a few years while we searched for the perfect white canvas... extremely expensive to buy online. So I found the pattern and we made our own

Posted using Partiko iOS

Awesome backstory on teepee. I wondered. Seems like there should be a story with anyone in a teepee these days :)

Yeah thanks... I have posted the backstory many times here on Steemit but that’s the problem with a blog ... every time I post a new photo of our teepee I need to either retell the story or provide a link to my earlier posts.... only the people who started following me in June 2017 would ever know the full story

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have also done paintings of our totems on the inside of the teepee but I have no idea where that post is now. I will repost when I can remember what device has those photos. Some old iPod where the iOS doesn’t work anymore. Damn Apple

Posted using Partiko iOS

Steemit needs a better Search Feature where you can search all the posts of one blog... so that the writer can find their old posts...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Excellent photography skill exhibited in your photo. It’s really cool that it’s made from recycling canvas slated for a landfill.

Thanks... we do all kinds of fun projects like this when the weather gets bad on the lake.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62802.08
ETH 2941.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59