What to do when you can't swim

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

You walk, like this common pond skater (Gerris lacustris):


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/40s

I also noticed a spider doing the same. No idea what kind of spider this is, though (edit: it's a wolf spider, thanks @mweich!):


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO100, f4, 1/80s

Have fun swimming!

Sort:  

It's a wolf spider. The last two pictures in this post show a wolf spider doing the same thing. In a flooded rice field rather than a peat bog.

Good work getting a shot of a water strider, they don't stay still very long!

Thanks for the identification!
And no, they move around all the time, I had tried before, but this is the first time I got a decent photo of a water strider.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.14 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 29 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

nice pictures .. that water is so dirty.. but ok. people throws everything in water and in bushes

The water looks like that because it is a small stream in a peat bog.

I've seen spiders run across water before. It's so strange. I wish I could do that at times. I've only known of one man who could do that. (A frozen pond doesn't count.)

I had one coming towards me as I was treading water once. I had never seen one walk on water before, I thought I was hallucinating.

He (she, it?) was looking for a place to take some rest... perhaps on your shoulders.

My GF had a fit, which was funny. I shouldn't have laughed, though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64