Three unusual critters

in #photography7 years ago

This funny-looking insect is a yellow weevil (Lixus angustatus). It made me laugh when I saw it up close, but that could well have been mutual; who am I to say it looks funny?


Olympus XZ-1, 28mm, ISO400, f5.6, 1/250s

I haven't been able to identify this one. As I approached, it turned on its back as if inviting me to tickle its stomach:


Olympus XZ-1, 28mm, ISO400, f5.6, 1/40s

This is a longhorn moth (Nemophora degeerella). The huge antennae are used for detecting females. The lenghts we go through ... It actually flies around despite its imbalance:


Olympus XZ-1, 28mm, ISO200, f6.3, 1/200s

We probably look funny to them as well.

Sort:  
I haven't been able to identify this one.

I think it should belong to the family of Cantharidae, probably genus Cantharis. I guess you know that, too ... It is not easy to say more from one photo.

Thanks for that! I'll have another go at identifying it.

Amazing creatures. I think the last one is very special with the superlong antenna

Some great specimens. I'm new to photographing insects and hope to find something rare to capture (only with my camera of course). 🙃

Always have gotten a kick out of the weevil. That long nose.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.55 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

These are great pics. That second one really looks like it wants tickled lol

I doubt that really was its intention, but it would have been difficult anyway, what with it being 8mm long. Maybe a blade of grass ...

Indeed. But perhaps so are we 8-).

You see an insect I've never seen before.
Although insects are funny and sometimes even cute.
Are you an entomologist?

No, but I photograph them so often, I started looking up what they are called, so I know a little bit about them.

Relly fantastic ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57709.05
ETH 3100.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33