Three seasons in two photos

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

We haven't had any frost during the day in The Netherlands for a while, but in some of the shaded and hidden places in the peat bog some ice still survives, with a little bit of autumn preserved in it:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO200, f4, 1/100s

A few steps further, the first signs of spring:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 75mm, ISO100, f4, 1/160s

Mild weather has been predicted, so these signs of spring may actually survive.

Sort:  

Those hazels in the second picture are a front-runner for the spring, though. Here in Oregon's Willamette Valley, their catkins can be blooming while snow is on the ground. Enjoy your late winter or early spring, whichever it is! ; )

Most deciduous trees around Amsterdam already have spring buds forming. I guess the gulf stream is being very nice to us this year, this 'winter' has so been not.

Nowhere near wintery enough, this winter. I like frost and huge amounts of snow, but I can imagine those would not have been the most comfortable of circumstances for you at times.

Between -5 and -10 is easier to cope with than between -5 and 5 degrees, the humidity here holds it in that range longer than in high altitude places, and I have lived maybe half my life above 600m.

It feels like spring here already now, temperatures have been over 10 degrees for about 3 days.

I'm very glad to have some warmer weather these next weeks. The cold was getting old.

I like the cold and snow, but then, I almost never feel cold. My GF is almost always cold, though. Women!

Doesn't that sound familiar. My boyfriend is my personal heater, which I very much need!
When he has a headache, though, my ice cold hands are a blessing ;-)

Great shots :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64