The Metallic Ones

in #photography7 years ago

It seems the season for the metallic damselflies, as I call them, has started in earnest.

They are actually called spreadwings (Lestidae), pantserjuffers in Dutch, but I can't tell the individual species apart anyway, so "metallic ones" is close enough:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 135mm, ISO100, f5.6, 1/500s

Their wings show spots of colour in the sun, I don't know what causes this:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 135mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/250s

This one looks a bit more blue-ish to me:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO160, f8, 1/160s

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

When we were kids we used to try and grab them by the tail and hold them!

Holy, those eyes are huge! Nice pictures.

Very nice color and very close!

It's a fabulous photos! :))) great job

So beautiful:) upvoted.

Fantastic images @ocrdu you really caught their beauty.

Thank you! 8-)

Very cool shots. The green metallic is so shiny

Thank you.

The second photo looks like having honey on the wings. Wonderful.

Fantastic shots of them the detail is amazing

I didn't know that dragonflies have so many beautiful shades. Now I like them more and more. It is a pity that in nature I see very few of them.

They live in quite specific habitats, but you can probably find some near where you live.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55