The lizards have woken up

in #photography7 years ago

For the first time this year, I spotted a couple of lizards near the peat bog, viviparous lizards (Zootoca vivipara) to be precise. They were tentatively walking around to find a good place for some sunbathing, but didn't trust me at all and didn't fully come out of hiding.

This one was on its way to their favourite pole in the sun:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/100s

Going up:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f8, 1/400s

This early in the season, they are very shy and run off at the slightest sound or movement. Here are two photos of the same species I took in earlier years, later in the season:


Olympus XZ-1, 28mm, ISO200, f8, 1/100s

It looked like it owned the place, yet it was only 8cm (3.2") long. Here's one that came to have a closer look at me, after I had sat still for almost an hour to get exactly such a shot:


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO100, f4, 1/100s

Anyway, they have shown themselves again this year, and I'm hoping for some more nice photos!

Sort:  

Oh my goodness they are adorable, the best I get are frogs and toads in my pond. lol

These like very warm, sunny places. If they are around in your region, fence poles, rock faces, and walls in full sun are the places to look for them!

Never seen those around here up North. Maybe it is just to cold for them.

In the north, these evolved into what we call "Groningers", so the small ones aren't around anymore.

Phew, am I glad I am an OalDamster... Hahaha.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.76 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99