Surprise find

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I don't see these often in the local peat bog on my walks. It's a rosebay willowherb (Chamaenerion angustifolium), called fireweed in the colonies, wilgenroosje in Dutch:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO200, f8, 1/125s

Not only pretty, but also food: young leaves and shoots can be eaten as vegetables, and are a good source of vitamin C and pro-vitamin A.

When you dry the leaves in the sun first, you can use them for making tea. The roots can be eaten after scraping off the outside and roasting them. The roots do become bitter after the plant flowers, though.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

We have this plant has the national name "Іван-чай" (Ivan-tea) :)

"Іван" referring to "a Russian"?

I do not know why this name is possible. In Russian, this plant is called "Ivan-and-Mary" ("Иван-да-Марья")

Perhaps this is due to the fact that in some regions of Russia from this plant bake tea

Very pretty, and a nice photo. I did not know all that about it; so many things in nature are food... I think something very similar grows around here (USA/Washington state), and I have heard the name "fireweed" a few times.

They are usually the first plants to pop up after a wildfire, hence the name.

Interesting-- did not know that. But it makes sense, because I have seen these mostly in areas of recent forest clearing.

Very interesting! I didn't know all of that about this plant :)

nice Surprise!

I have seen these a couple of times in Finland, I think. Never knew that they can be eaten, thank you for enlightening me.

Oh! I've seen fireweed in nature. Beautiful! It was the whole field. It turns out that he is also useful. Interesting information. Thank you @ocrdu

Good to know, nice to see the graduate opening of the blossom. Voted!

Beautiful indeed. I have heard about it @ocrdu

Nice. Thank you for sharing information about eatable wild plant. It has become one of my greatest interests to find wild plants I can eat :) And there are so many to discover and the taste diversity is amazing :)

There are really many, and some are quite unexpected 8-).

It is indeed beautiful and tanks to your informative post I now know it is very useful also

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50