Still going strong

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

On sunny days, the dragonflies are still out hunting. I'm not sure of the species of these, I think they are either a common darter (Sympetrum striolatum) or a vagrant darter (Sympetrum vulgatum).

This one is warming up:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f8, 1/500s

This one is on the look-out for prey, and it has a food competitor in the background. Very different hunting methods, though:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO125, f5.6, 1/500s

I wonder how far into autumn I will be seeing these.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

Beautiful! So many dragonflies here that I am tired of taking their photos. I am glad the season is coming to an end but can't wait till next year.

I love all your dragon fly photos! These are beauties! resteemed and tip!

I love the detail! Dragonflies are beautiful. Thanks for the great post!

Such beautiful crystal clear clarity in the fine wings and tails of these dragonflies @ocrdu. 🦋

I didn't see any dragonflies in my short stay in The Netherlands. I guess I will have to go back! :)

I could point them out for you; some travel required 8-).

That would be fabulous! I will let you know the next time I will be there. I am all about traipsing around the countryside, especially with someone who knows where they are going. :)

Very nice captured, as always ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Sep 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.77 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Sep 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Hope to catch some sun today too. Great photos, incredibly sharp and lifelike colors.

I love their almost-human like features. You captured him so well. tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62684.33
ETH 2456.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66