Photography: technique versus things that really matter

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

This is one of my favourite photos ever. There is distortion; exposure, contrast and sharpness are not exactly great. It has some scratches. Still, I think it is one of the greatest photos ever made.

Why? Because it is the only surviving photo of my great-grandparents.

Good technique and great cameras are nice things to have, but they should never become more important than what is actually in the photo.

This photo wasn't taken by me, mainly because I wasn't born yet

Sort:  

I took a street photography course this summer with two of the leading photographs in Israel. Some of the students were constantly talking about their cameras, to the point when I wanted to shout at them, "Dammit! You're missing the whole point".

Exactly. They should confine themselves to shooting pictures of brick walls so they can compare lens distortion and count pixels.

Excellent reminder. What is in the photo is most important!


The short one in front is my great-great-grandmother before she came to America. We found this photo after my grandparents died and we had to go through their house to clean items out. It really makes you regret the time you didn't spend with them but appreciate the moments you did! So many more questions I should have asked when I had the chance!

One of my great-great-grandmothers, in traditional Dutch attire. I wonder how long she would have had to sit still for this.

I have traced my ancestors back to about 1550. Wish I could travel back in time to talk to them, ask questions, tell stories, and ... take pictures!

Always liked the idea of time travel, and I wish I could as well.

I've traced mine to the 15th century on one particular line, that is the furthest I've gotten which is lucky.


My great-great-great grandfather b.1851

Something about your photo in the original post seems really familiar...

Cousin! 8-) Must have been the fashion.

I have the male line to about 1550, the oldest one I found in other lines was born about 1380. Beyond that, there are hardly any records in The Netherlands.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.72
ETH 3101.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33