Modest, but pretty

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This modest little plant is called May Lily (Maianthemum bifolium), dalkruid in Dutch, known locally here in the region of Twente as wilde lelietjes ("little wild lilies").

It is a close relation of the lily of the valley (Convallaria majalis), and both are poisonous.

May lilies are quite rare and only found in very specific habitats; they are very picky.


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/40s

My GF likes these a lot, so I had no choice but to post this photo, to avoid having to sleep on the couch.

Sort:  

And look how well this post did -- your GF was right, lol. And I appreciate seeing these little plants!

I try to avoid saying she is right.
Two more wildflowers coming up, in purple this time.

I better upvote to help you stay off that couch ;)

I love the spiderwebs like blankets stretched out between them. Deadly fly catching blankets of dooom!

Anything that catches mosquitos is a friend of mine.

I'm glad you posted, new and pretty to my eye...

Glad you like it.

poisonous how if you don't mind me asking?

The plant contains steroid saponins. There are some claims these have medical uses, but I am not enough of an expert to judge those claims. Steroid saponins as found in this plant are considered toxic by the books.

I have read that it makes your nipples fall off!


...any validity to this?

I suppose death does that, eventually.

nipples falling off is definitely a notorious trademark of death...

Good that you're not on the couch 😉...but these lovely lillies don't need an excuse to deserve a post.

That's a weird looking plant lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57034.02
ETH 3084.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41