Ice!

in #photography8 years ago

During yesterday's walk, I spotted this block of ice sitting on an ice floor. The sun was setting, and the ice captured the light:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f8, 1/80s

The lake where that photo was taken was frozen over, and the Dutch being the Dutch will take any opportunity to do some ice skating. The ice wasn't thick enough to be safe, but despite that, some silly parents took their children out on the ice, even though a recent crack was there for everybody to see:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 45mm, ISO125, f8, 1/100s

Suddenly, there was a loud and prolonged tearing sound, as a new crack formed. Fortunately, this was enough to get everybody off the ice before accidents happened:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 100mm, ISO200, f8, 1/125s

With everybode safe, I took the time to take a photo of another block of ice in the sunset:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/320s

Nothing new here, really; ice is pretty and some parents ...

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.04 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 23 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I like how that last photo shows a rough surface on the ice. I like the colors in the ice block, too.

I've done my share of stupid things on ice, so I don't have any room to criticize anyone. I'm lucky to still be alive, lol, on several counts -- from laying down all spread out to cross a river, while watching the ice sag all around me -- to being on big, mobile ice blocks on Lake Superior with a full pack and snowshoes. I'll admit I'm more lucky than smart!

Very pretty. It looks like a piece of Rose Quartz.

It does, doesn't it? I actually have a block of rose quartz sitting on my desk 8-).

Curious, I presume someone threw the ice block onto the surface of the ice. Otherwise it is difficult to see how it formed.



ColdMonkey mines Gridcoin through generating voluntary BOINC computations for science...


Probably somebody who went through the ice and broke some off. It was frozen to the ice floor.

It looks very nice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52