Butterflies: Painted Lady

in #photography6 years ago

The painted lady (Vanessa cardui), known in the colonies as the cosmopolitan, and called distelvlinder in Dutch, is a migrant butterfly in The Netherlands and numbers here vary greatly from year to year.

These butterflies can be found all over the world, except in Antarctica and South America. In The Netherlands they are seen from May to October, but in tropical regions they are present all year round. The ones in Europe fly in mainly from Central Africa.

I haven't seen them often and I only have two shots of this species, and they aren't exactly the best photos I ever made, but they will have to do:


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO200, f8, 1/400s


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO200, f8, 1/125s

Thanks for watching! Bring on the votes, hold the spam!

Previous in series: Meadow Brown.

Sort:  

its a beauty, and now is exaclty the right time to be reminded that the winter wont last forever. I like the the poetic british names. In denmark it goes by the rather mundane name "Tidselsommerfugl" (meaning thistlebutterfly) a quick google translate tells me that the dutch and danish names are equally mundane :-)

very beautiful

really beautiful as always be...Clean and clear...we learn all the butterflies because of you :D

Have a nice day my friend....:)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 20 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Nice post and beautiful picture thanks for sharing keep it up thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63816.85
ETH 3134.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86