Butterflies: Alcon Blue

in #photography7 years ago

The Alcon blue (Phengaris alcon), gentiaanblauwtje in Dutch, is a very rare butterfly in The Netherlands; I have only seen one once, and I didn't even find that one; my GF did and pointed it out to me.

They only deposit eggs on gentians, rare in The Netherlands, and the larvae depend on the presence of ants (of the genus Myrmica, not that common either) to take care of them:

"The larvae emit surface chemicals that closely match those of ant larvae, causing the ants to carry the Alcon larvae into their nests and place them in their brood chambers."

The ants protect and feed the larvae/caterpillars. After pupating a butterfly emerges that is recognised by the ants as an intruder, so it has to make its way out of the ants' nest as fast as it can.

In short: where there are no gentians or no Myrmica ants, there will be no Alcon blue population.

As I said, I only ever saw one, but I did manage to get five photos of that female, first inspecting a gentian, and then depositing eggs on it:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO125, f5.6, 1/500s


Olympus Stylus 1s, 265mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/500s


Olympus Stylus 1s, 265mm, ISO100, f5.6, 1/640s


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO125, f5.6, 1/500s


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO100, f5.6, 1/640s

I had been looking for one of these butterflies for years, and I'm chuffed to bits with these photos.

Thanks for watching!

Previous in series: Small Tortoiseshell.

Sort:  

For the fact that you only met him once, really great photos have succeeded. You documented the egg deposit great. I'm keeping my fingers crossed for you to find him this year.

Thanks! There is one fairly stable population near here, and a larger population in the Gilderhauservenn, not far from here in Germany, but I have only seen the eggs there so far:

Then you'll have to stop by earlier this year, depending on the weather. If the population still exists, I'm sure you can find it.

Also in the cross gentian, the eggs are well visible on flowers and leaves. So the proof of M. rebeli is no problem for me. There are about 900 plants in the area!

Take a look at this: NSG Brachenleite

Interesting! I have actually often been close to that area when driving to Prague, but I never realised it was there 8-(.

very nice and awesome photos

wow

nice nature photography...thanks for sharing..

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 9 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Magnificent article. For the first time I see such a beautiful butterfly. It is very rare.

Великолепная статья. Я впервые вижу такую красивую бабочку. Она очень редкая.

butterflies are unique, I also have some butterfly photos, maybe you like them.
click here
https://busy.org/@muhamadin/married-butterfly-cousin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66739.21
ETH 2594.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70