Blackberry Guard

in #photography7 years ago

Those who follow this blog will know I'm not all that scared of dragonflies, but I must admit this big one startled me a bit when I was picking blackberries:


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO100, f4, 1/125s

It is a blue hawker (Aeshna cyanea), blauwe glazenmaker in Dutch, about 7.5cm (3") long. Here's another photo of the same species:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/500s

They are almost always airborne when you see them; they only hang around like this when the weather is bad, so the best time to photograph them is when there's wind or rain.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

that is a lovely dragonfly.

Stunning photos - I love dragonflies in my garden - I do not use any types of poisonous sprays as i want to keep the ecology balanced.

When I was a kid (back in prehistoric times) we called them "darning needles" and the grownups would say that if you're not good- they'll sew your eyes shut!

Never trust a grownup 8-). They eat mosquitos, so they must be nice.

Words to live by!!!

Amazing! The first photo clearly shows the tail is completely made up of Darth Vader helmets! Very cool indeed!

Heehee, hadn't noticed that.

nice photo my friend

Thank you.

Congratulations @ocrdu! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62956.16
ETH 2588.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74