Bad tree frog: a true story in five pictures

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

All pictures taken with an Olympus XZ-1, except the last one, for obvious reasons.

Tree frogs like basking in the sun, and get restless when the shade starts covering them. "Restless" is perhaps too big a word; they open their eyes, which is quite a lot of movement for a tree frog in the sun. They even manage to look a bit grumpy.

Where did the sun go?

So, it decided to walk to a sunnier place on the blackberry bush (they feel safe on blackberry bushes).

On the move

No, not quite comfortable enough

Oh look, what's that then?

After having taken that last close-up shot I turned the top of my camera towards me to check some settings. The tree frog decided my camera was as good a place as any, and jumped on my lens! After I had stopped laughing I put my camera down and shot the next picture with my mobile phone.

Much more comfortable

It took quite a lot of doing to clean the lens afterwards, but the picture was well worth it.

Sort:  

:D :D :D .. I see the reason now.. :D :D
They look like miniature version of hulk ..

Awesome story and even better last shot!

Thank you.

A nature photographer in a peat bog, something for you next book? Here's your book cover photo 8-)

I bet that lens was a mess, lol! That's a frog with some personality, too. This is a nice photo essay, with a fun story.

It left a very sticky goo, and I only carry one lens cloth with me normally. Not enough; had to drive home, end of photo session.

Haha. At least it wasn't corrosive goo, like in the movie Alien! Watch out, out there! : )

I've never seen such a GREEN frog. Keep it up :)

It actually changes colour; dark green when cold, a bright green in the sun, and it turns grey or brown when stressed.

Note: I never touch these frogs, and nor should you, it is very bad for them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69