Alien cocoon

in #photography7 years ago

Well, not really, but I made you look, didn't I?

I found this unusual cocoon on heather near the local peat bog:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO200, f8, 1/125s

I have never seen such a cocoon before. Does anyone know what manner of beast makes such cocoons?

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.26 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 05 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

My dad used to pay us to harvest 'bagworms' off the spruce trees, which looked similar. Never knew the real term for them, since I was too short to read. But there are no doubt many tent/bag caterpillars around. So I'm guessing all THAT is of no help here...

I've seen a horror movie about a similar cocoon :))

I'll avoid the area from now on 8-).

What are the dimensions on that?

The cocoon is about 3cm (1.2") long.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64052.62
ETH 2530.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65