A Sturdy One

in #photography6 years ago

The migrant hawker (Aeshna mixta), paardenbijter in Dutch, is one of the smaller hawker dragonflies.

The Dutch name ("horse biter") refers to the fact that they are often seen around horses, where they hunt for insects; people mistakenly thought they were biting the horses.


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO200, f8, 1/200s


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO100, f2.8, 1/1000s


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO100, f8, 1/100s

Young ones try their best to blend in while they dry up and get warm:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/160s

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

wow! amazing photos!

Amazing Pic @ocrdu !! A big thumbs up from my side!! Keep up the good work...

A very perfect post.
I like..
thanks for sharing @ocrdu

I rarely comment, but these are always genuinely very good. Too good for Steemit, almost, lol.

Thanks.

And: nothing is too good for Steemit.
They made me say that.

Only the bestest content on the internets!

Very nice and sharp photos. I know how hard it is to snap a photo of flying dragonfly. They sure move fast!

Upvoted!

You have covered very well the dragonfly.

Your dragonfly titles say everything :D

Your pictures are getting better and better @ocrdu. Theflyin mid flight isout of sight. These pictures should be published somewhere. Wunderbar.

Thanks, but note that these are from stock (my own, of course 8-), so some are older than others. Not necessarily a quality progression in time there, I mean 8-).

Great capture of the one in flight. Seems like a helicopter on a mission!

Your photos never cease to give me that wow factor. Outstanding photography @ocrdu Do you have a favorite lens for capturing them? I have been looking at different sizes for telephoto but don't know which one would be beneficial at this point. It is too confusing for me. ;-)

I use a bridge camera with a fixed 28-300mm zoom that can get fairly close, not a special macro lens on a SLR. I prefer a smaller sensor for more depth of field for this sort of photography (and I am too lazy to lug big cameras around 8-).

My favourite macro lens of all times is the Nikon 200mm f/4 ED-IF AF Micro-NIKKOR, but I never use it, it's all down to my trusty Olympus Stylus 1s.

If you want to photograph bugs and other small creatures, make sure the lens isn't too short as they will often flee if you get too close. Either learn to move very slowly 8-), or use 200mm or even 300mm.

Thank you so much for that great response @ocrdu I do use my 300mm a lot, but with the bugs I need to be more patient I see. I do have a tripod and I will start working with that too to keep my shots steady.. I still need to learn my camera, in all my spare time. I appreciate your input. Thanks again.

You are most welcome. BTW I never use a tripod for this kind of photography, it's all done hand-held. It's easier to follow them about that way 8-).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63571.79
ETH 3068.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97